Danganronpa smashes five million shipments, 10th anniversary stream announced

danganronpa cast five million shipments

I would advise against attending any parties

Kazutaka Kodaka’s wild murder-mystery franchise Danganronpa has hit an impressive five million physical shipments since its inception way back in 2010. Publisher Spike Chunsoft revealed the milestone earlier today on Twitter.

The five million figure represents cumulative physical shipments of 2010’s Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc, 1021’s Danganronpa 2: Goodbye Despair, 2014’s Danganronpa Another Episode: Ultra Despair Girls, and 2017’s Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony. Additionally, Spike Chunsoft announced that the PC editions of Trigger Happy Havoc and Goodbye Despair have also surpassed one million digital sales each.

When you weigh in digital console sales, as well as the sales of the recent Anniversary Editions on iOS and Android, it’s clear that the Danganronpa franchise has seen incredible success for what is a relatively niche brand. This is to say nothing of the anime and manga adaptations, litany of tie-in merchandise, soundtrack, even live show sales. With the upcoming compendium Danganronpa Decadence just weeks away from release on Nintendo Switch, this cartoonish but thoroughly morbid world of killer kids looks set to hit even more fans (and sales) with its twisted and mysterious tales.

This November, the Danganronpa team will round off its 10th-anniversary celebrations with a special pay-per-view live-stream event. The Danganronpa 10th Anniversary: Ultimate Class Reunion will feature a look back at the history of the entire franchise, including interview panels with the series’ developers and voice actors, as well as live musical performances — all streaming from the Tokorozawa Sakura Town Japan Pavilion in Saitama, Japan.

If you want to check out the celebration for yourself, then the show begins November 27 at 15:00 JST (which is November 26 22:00 PT / November 27 01:00 ET). There will be a repeat performance of the entire stream broadcast on November 27 at 18:30 JST (which is November 27 01:30 PT / 04:30 ET). Tickets are available at the official Spike Chunsoft store. Please be warned that, as a live performance, the stream will NOT feature English subtitles.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors.