Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio announces RGG Summit for next week

Yakuza RGG Studio

See what’s next for RGG Studio

Another developer is joining the list of showcases set for next week. Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio, the developer behind the Yakuza and Judgment series, is hosting the RGG Summit 2022 on September 14.

The RGG Summit will air on Sega’s Twitch channel, going live at 19:00 JST. That’s 10:00 UTC, or 3:00 a.m. PT for those on the west coast. East coasters have it a little bit easier, with a 6 a.m. ET air time.

For those who are awake and tuned in, the stream will have live English interpretation and subtitled assets for those outside of Japan.

No indication’s been given yet as to what will be announced. Though, given the recent tease of some footage from the next Yakuza, that seems like a likely candidate.

The studio has confirmed it’s working on the next Yakuza game already. It will be a follow-up to Yakuza: Like a Dragon, and it will retain a turn-based RPG approach.

Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio will also be without Toshihiro Nagoshi, who left the company and has established Nagoshi Studio under NetEase. It’ll be interesting to see what’s next for Ichiban and the crew, and the Yakuza series in general, if we get a glimpse during the RGG Summit.

Summer’s end gaming news blitz

That’s far from the only showcase next week, too. Next week is the 2022 Tokyo Game Show, and companies like Capcom, Square Enix, and Bandai Namco are all lined up to air streams.

Xbox and Twitch are also airing a showcase next week for [email protected], too. This weekend will even have a Marvel and Disney showcase, and an Ubisoft Forward. Plus, the ever-present rumors of a potential September Direct (which may or may not be happening, who’s to say).

With the holiday season just over the horizon, seems like we’re getting one last wave of gaming news and announcements. We’ll see what RGG Studio has in store next week.

Eric Van Allen