Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 gets first free multiplayer trial today

call of duty multiplayer trial modern warfare 2

Drop your socks and grab your… well…

Activision Blizzard sequel Call of Duty Modern Warfare II is opening the doors to all and sundry today, as the gazillion-dollar shooter launches its first free multiplayer weekend. Players on PlayStation, PC, and Xbox can download a truncated version of the title for free to check out its hi-octane action.

The trial kicks off today and will run until Monday, December 19 at 10:00 PT / 13:00 ET / 18:00 BST. During that time, squaddies can check out a variety of Modern Warfare II multiplayer modes including Team Deathmatch, Domination, Hardpoint, and, my own personal specialty, Kill Confirmed. Three maps will be made available for digital pew-pew desires — namely Farm 18, El Asilo, and the recently added battlezone, Shipment, which features a ton of containers and blind corners for all your hide ‘n’ seek needs.

Launching in October of this year, Modern Warfare II was mostly well-received by critics and fans, praising its top-tier visuals and atmosphere, while chastising the franchise’s general sense of repetition even when bolstered by the power of the ninth generation of gaming. The campaign mode serves as both a reboot and a prequel to the original Modern Warfare canon, and sees Task Force 141 attempt to take down a global weapons cartel.

Call of Duty Modern Warfare II is available now on PlayStation, PC, and Xbox platforms.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s and writing about them since the 1880s. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse