new york game awards 2023 elden ring

Elden Ring bags another Best Game trophy at New York Game Awards

The ‘I’m walkin’ here’ award goes to…

Recommended Videos

Yesterday saw the New York Videogame Critics Circle host its 12th annual New York Game Awards, celebrating the best releases to hit the PC, console, and mobile gaming market in 2022.

In a ceremony packed full of, frankly, oddly monikered categories Elden Ring was the big winner of the evening, taking home the “Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year”. In addition, FromSoftware’s highly celebrated fantasy RPG also captured the “Statue of Liberty Award for Best World”. Elden Ring, as you will no doubt be aware, topped many outlets’ “Best of” lists at the end of 2022, (including our own), which is a testament to the title’s appeal in aesthetic design, gameplay, and atmosphere.

Other big winners of the night included Poncle’s Vampire Survivors, which won the “Off-Broadway Award for Best Indie Game”, while actor Manon Gage took home the “Great White Way Award for Best Acting in a Game”, for her affecting performance in Sam Barlow’s Immortality. The “A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game” was won by card-battle Marvel Snap, while the “Herman Melville Award for Best Writing in a Game” went to Sony Santa Monica’s brutal and evocative sequel God of War: Ragnarok.

Here is the winners’ list for the 2023 New York Game Awards:

  • Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year: Elden Ring
  • Off-Broadway Award for Best Indie Game: Vampire Survivors
  • Herman Melville Award for Best Writing in a Game: God of War Ragnarök
  • Statue of Liberty Award for Best World: Elden Ring
  • Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music in a Game: Metal: Hellsinger
  • Great White Way Award for Best Acting in a Game: Manon Gage (Immortality)
  • Coney Island Dreamland Award for Best AR/VR Game: Moss: Book II
  • Central Park Children’s Zoo Award for Best Kids Game: Kirby and the Forgotten Land
  • A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game: Marvel Snap
  • Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake: The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe
  • Joltin’ Joe Award for Best Esports Player of the Year: Masaya “aMSa” Chikamoto (VGBootCamp/Red Bull Esports)
  • Chumley’s Speakeasy Award for Best Hidden Gem: Signalis
  • NYC GWB Award for Best DLC: Destiny 2: The Witch Queen
  • Knickerbocker Award for Best Games Journalism: Justin Heckert (Vanity Fair)
  • Elizabeth Jennings Graham Award for Best Educator: Ryan O’Callaghan
  • Andrew Yoon Legend Award Recipient: Phil Spencer

Destructoid is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Chris Moyse
Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s and writing about them since the 1880s. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse