Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play, explained

Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play

Skills and thrills

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has newly launched Season 2. In the midst of the host of changes and improvements, one of the highlighted new features is the arrival of an all-new game mode: Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play is here and this is everything you need to know about it.

Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play details

Ranked Play is the Call of Duty League-style game mode that is now available in the CoD game. This playlist is the officially launched version of the previous “CDL Moshpit” limited-time game mode.

Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play works pretty much the same as its previous incarnation. It includes familiar game modes and maps for players to check out. Ranked Play launched in Season 2 with six maps in total wherein players can compete for rank and skill points.

Here are the six maps available right now in Ranked Play for players across all platforms in Season 2:

  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • El Asilo
  • Embassy
  • Mercado Las Almas
  • Zarqwa Hydroelectric

There are only three game modes available in Ranked Play: Hardpoint, Search & Destroy, and Control. These follow the same format as the CDL maps and modes.

When a player queues up for Ranked Play, one of these six maps and a game mode will randomly be chosen for them. Matches are four-versus-four, instead of the usual six-on-six in multiplayer.

In addition, Ranked Play includes a restrictive number of weapons and attachments. Only the weapons used by CDL pros are available in this playlist.

All ranks in MW2 Ranked Play

MW2 Ranked Play works on two distinct formats, starting with the overall ranks. These ranks don’t change and are permanent across all seasons. Every player begins their Ranked Play journey at rank one and have the option to progress all the way to rank 50.

Each new rank requires a certain number of stars to unlock. The more wins a player gets, the more stars they receive and the quicker they progress through all 50 ranks. During the 50 ranks, players receive special rewards for reaching milestones like five ranks, 10, etc.

How skill divisions work

Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play skill divisions
Image via Activision

Skill divisions are the other half of the ranked playlist. This is by far the more competitive and ever-changing aspect of Ranked Play. The playlist has eight skill divisions in total:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Crimson
  • Iridescent
  • Top 250

Each match a player engages in will change their skill rating. Skill rating points are given based on if a player wins or loses a match. Fortunately, if a teammate leaves a match prematurely, no skill rating points will be lost.

Once players reach a certain number of skill rating points, they will move into the next skill division. Unfortunately, skill divisions reset with the arrival of a new season. In general, a player’s skill division will go down when this happens.

Players have the opportunity to earn exclusive cosmetic rewards each season for reaching as high of a skill division as they can.

Cody Perez
Freelance Writer - Cody has been a huge fan of Destructoid for more than a decade as well as a freelance writer for various publications. Now working for Destructoid, he has the chance to share his passion for Final Fantasy XIV, Pokemon, Call of Duty, and many more games.