Nintendo reveals Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope, coming to Switch in 2022

(Just remember to look surprised this afternoon)

It looks like somebody has decided to jump the gun on tonight’s Ubisoft Forward live stream. Nintendo has updated its website with a listing for a brand new, Ubisoft-produced, Mario & Rabbids title — Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope — which is coming exclusively to Switch in 2022.

“Team up with Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach, Rabbid Peach, Rabbid Luigi, and their friends on a galactic journey to defeat a malevolent entity and save your Spark companions,” reads a brief blurb. “Explore planets throughout the galaxy as you uncover mysterious secrets and compelling quests!”

Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope will have players build a team of three unique heroes from a cast of nine characters, before embarking on a mystic quest to save the Sparks, each of which will afford the team new skills and powers. The listing emphasizes that the title will have a strategic lean, tasking the player with using synergy and smart teamwork between their chosen characters in order to save the day.

No doubt we’ll be seeing the first trailer for Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope during this afternoon’s Ubisoft Forward presentation, so be sure to tune in here on Destructoid at 12:00 PT / 15:00 ET / 20:00 BST.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors.