God of War: Ragnarok full story synopsis revealed

Fimbulwinter, here we come

Recommended Videos

The follow-up to Sony Santa Monica’s God of War has to be one of the most anticipated games of the past few years, and as we get closer and closer to that November release date, fans are getting a closer look into what the game has to offer. The last story nugget we got was from the game’s cinematic trailer, which confirmed that players will be able to visit all nine realms, but now God of War: Ragnarok has been listed on the PlayStation Store (initially reported by The Gamer), so we can finally get a look at the full story synopsis.

The listing reads as follows: “From Santa Monica Studio comes the sequel to the critically acclaimed God of War (2018). Fimbulwinter is well underway. Kratos and Atreus must journey to each of the Nine Realms in search of answers as Asgardian forces prepare for a prophesied battle that will end the world.”

“Along the way they will explore stunning, mythical landscapes, and face fearsome enemies in the form of Norse gods and monsters. The threat of Ragnarök grows ever closer. Kratos and Atreus must choose between their own safety and the safety of the realms.”

So now we know the game won’t just be taking place during Ragnarok itself, the epic final battle of the gods in Norse mythology, but will also take place in the era that comes directly before it: Fimbulwinter. We already know that Thor and Kratos don’t quite get along, and given the fresh take that SMS is giving us on the God of Thunder we know and love, it’s going to be interesting to see how Ragnarok shakes things up in the series.

The game’s release is approaching quickly after some delays, but something tells me that this is a title that will have been worth waiting for.

About The Author
Noelle Warner
After a few years of working in game development, Noelle joined the Destructoid team in 2021. She particularly loves interactive storytelling and cuddling with her cats!
More Stories by Noelle Warner