Friday Night Fights: Welcome back edition

Welcome back, Sony! After weeks of downtime, the PSN is (mostly) back up for business. Well, at least the part of PSN that matters for the FNF crew. Make sure to celebrate the return of Sony’s online play by taking part in some FNF’s with the Destructoid community! And lets hope that our combined fun doesn’t crash anything!

Also, just a reminder that this is the last weekend that you have a chance to enter the contest to win a Razer fight pad through Fight.destructoid.com. The details of the contest are here, but all you have to do is log in and challenge someone to a head  to head or tournament match. Confused about what fight.destructoid is? Then check out this handy guide!

For a full list of the games that the community is playing, read on below!

New to FNF? Read this: Each week, a bunch of Destructoid readers and usually an editor or two get together to play some videogames online. Basically, this is what Friday Night Fights are all about.

The planning for FNF takes place in the forums, where community members volunteer to host by posting their information (gamertag, time to meet up, game, etc.) in the forum post corresponding to the system they’re interested in playing on.

Then, every Friday, reminder posts for those who don’t read the forums regularly go up in the community blogs section all thanks to a dedicated group of cool individuals. And for everyone who wants their info all in one place, they have got my weekly recap posts to look forward to between 4:30 – 5:30 PM EST.

Now that you’re here, just scan the list below and find a game you want to play. All that’s left to do after that is to join the match by contacting the host below using any means necessary. For Wii, you might have to be a little creative, but for 360/PS3 a simple “invite me” message will be fine.

The names on the left are our Destructoid handles, while the ones on the right are our online handles (PSN IDs, for example). Don’t see a game you want to play? Feel free to post a comment offering to take up hosting duties yourself.

EU FNF

Tonight’s Hosts:

  • Platform: Xbox 360
    Game: Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat, Marvel vs Capcom 3
    People: Gamertags: Death by Lumber, AngelEchoes
    Time: 21.00 CET | 20.00 BST | 15.00 EST
  • Platform: Xbox 360
    Game: Halo: Reach
    People: Gamertags: Tarvu, The Kinky Ninja
    Time: 21.15 CET | 20.10 BST | 15.10 EST
  • Platform: Playstation 3
    Game: RDR Undead Nightmare, Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood, Uncharted 2
    People: Juan (PSN: Juani-arg)
    Time: 00.30 CET | 23.30 BST | 18.30 EST
  • Platform: PC/Mac, Steam
    Game: Left for Dead 2
    People: Join the Steam group to find us!
    Time: 02.00 CET | 01.00 BST | 20.00 EST

FNF 360

Tonight’s Hosts (more info from GaminginPublic):

  • Game: Monday Night Combat
    Host: ScottyG (GT: ScottyGrayskull)
    Time: 6:00PM EST
  • Game: Section 8: Prejudice
    Host: Epic-KxDtoid (GT: Epic KxLIVE)
    Time: 8:00PM CST
  • Game: Halo: Reach
    Host: xOatmealNinjaxX (GT: xOatmealNinjaxX)
    Time: 9:00PM EST
  • Game: Call of Duty: Black Ops/ Modern Warfare 2
    Host: garethxxgod (GT: garethxxgod)
    Time: 9:00pm EST
  • Game: Monday Night Combat
    Host: GaminginPublic (GT: GoodPostureClub)
    Time: 9:00PM EST

FNF PS3
 

Tonight’s Hosts (more info from Trev):

  • Game: Killzone 3
    Host: Trev (PSN: ElZilcho)
    Time: 9:00PM EST
  • Game: Super Street Fighter IV
    Host: xGlakex (PSN: MuRd3rIngQu33nX)
    Time: 9:30PM EST
  • Game: MAG
    Host: Elsa (PSN: Elsa)
    Time: 10:00PM EST
  • Game: Resistance 2
    Host: Epic-KxDtoid (PSN: b00mst1ck101)
    Time: 11PM EST
  • Game: SOCOM 4
    Host: Lenigod (PSN: Lenigod)
    Time: 10:00PM EST

PC FNF       
If you want to find people to play with, check out the Steam chat below:

The Steam group

Jesse Cortez