DMZ detailed for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare II and Warzone 2.0

Stay Frosty

Activision Blizzard, in association with developer Infinity Ward, has offered up some early details on its new DMZ mode, which will be rolling out in Call of Duty: Modern Warfare II and its battle royale sister, Warzone 2.0 on November 16 at 10:00 PT / 13:00 ET / 19:00 BST.

While deep details were not on offer, we do now know that DMZ will operate within Warzone 2.0 and will consist of an open-world, narrative-driven multiplayer mission for players and their squad buddies. Teams will be given free rein to complete a series of core missions, accept side objectives, and battle it out with other operators and A.I. bots. From this early description, it almost sounds like DMZ is an amalgamation of previous Call of Duty multiplayer experiences, such as Fireteam and Zombies… Except without the zombies.

call of duty dmz season one roadmap

The brief blurb also seems to confirm the CoD community’s suspicions that DMZ is to be Call of Duty‘s take on Battlestate Games’ own long-running shooter Escape From Tarkov. Launched in open beta way back in 2017, Escape From Tarkov is another open-world military shooter that tasks squads of players with gathering intel, completing missions, and exfiltrating from the battlezone, all while engaging in bullet-pumping firefights with bots and other players.

DMZ will launch as part of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2/Warzone 2.0‘s Season One content, which will include new Warzone map Al Mazrah — complete with revamped Gulag mode — as well as a fistful of new operators, weapons, vehicles, and modes, all of which will roll out over the coming weeks. For full details on all season one content, check out the official Call of Duty website.

Chris Moyse
Managing Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse