Diablo 4’s World Tiers system explained

Diablo 4 Ashava world tier 1

Trek through Hell in varying degrees of difficulty

Every game in the Diablo franchise thus far has had its own unique difficulty system, and Diablo IV is no different. Even though the game feels like a mix of its predecessors, Diablo IV utilizes a unique system called World Tiers to allow for varying levels of difficulty.

Below we have Diablo 4’s World Tiers system explained in full detail.

What exactly is the World Tier system in Diablo 4?

The World Tier system is essentially the scaling difficulty system in the game. Each tier increases the strength of enemies in the game while also increasing the potential rewards for defeating them. There are two ways to change the World Tier your game is on. If you are at the main menu before logging into a character, you can click the Change World Tier button on the right side of the screen to do so. If you are already in-game, you will have to visit a World Tier Statue in any major city. These statues appear as an angel icon on your map.

You can find one of these statues in the North East side of Kyovashad, near the Cathedral of Light.

We know that when the full game releases there will be at least four World Tiers. Only two were accessible in the beta events so far. Another two were visible in game, but were locked. The requirements to unlock them could not be fulfilled in the limited scope of the beta. It has been rumored that there will be a fifth World Tier as well, but there has been no definitive confirmation of it yet.

Diablo 4 World Tier 1 – Adventurer

This is the default difficulty that is available from the start of the game. According to the game, enemies on this World Tier will be easy to defeat, and their drops are average. It is recommended for players that are new to Diablo or those that want a light challenge. It is meant for levels 1-50.

Diablo 4 World Tier 2 – Veteran

Compared to the first World Tier, Veteran is recommended for Diablo veterans who want to be tested. Enemies are more challenging but have a 20% increase in the amount of experience gained and monsters drop 15% more gold. Despite being a more challenging World Tier, this one is also available from the start and intended for players level 1-50.

Diablo 4 World Tier 3 – Nightmare

While the previous two difficulties are available from the beginning, the rest must be unlocked. Nightmare is unlocked by completing the Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon in Kyovashad while on Veteran difficulty. 50-70 is the recommended level for this World Tier. Nightmare has the following changes:

  • Players gain 100% bonus experience and have their Non-Physical resistances reduced by 20%.
  • Enemies are more formidable.
  • Sacred and Unique items now have a low chance of dropping.
  • Nightmare Sigils which unseal Nightmare Dungeons can now drop.
  • Helltides and Champion monsters with damage resistance auras can now spawn.

Diablo 4 World Tier 4 – Torment

You must complete the Fallen Temple Capstone Dungeon in the Dry Steppes on Nightmare difficulty to unlock this world tier. This tier is for players level 70+. Torment also has some unique changes:

  • Players gain 200% bonus experience and have their Non-Physical resistances reduced by 40%.
  • Enemies are more fearsome.
  • Ancestral items and new Unique items now have a low chance of dropping.

For now, that is all of Diablo 4‘s World Tiers explained in detail. If this changes on release we will be sure to update the guide, especially if the rumored fifth tier turns out to be real.

If you have not yet decided which edition of Diablo 4 is best for you, check out our Diablo 4 edition guide that explains them all in full detail.

About The Author
Steven Mills
Freelance Writer - Steven is a freelance writer who enjoys creating guides for games. He has a passion for story focused RPG's like the Final Fantasy franchise and ARPG's like Diablo and Path of Exile.
More Stories by Steven Mills