Cult of the Lamb scoops four prizes at Australian Game Developer Awards

cult of the lamb australian awards goty

This lamb got the chops

Devolver Digital’s comically unnerving roguelike, Cult of the Lamb, has ironically become something of a cult hit itself, winning over fans with its creepy-cute visuals, anarchic attitude, and engaging gameplay — In fact, Massive Monster’s indie hit has already bagged its first Game of the Year award, courtesy of the Australian Game Developer Awards.

The event, which took place on the evening on October 4, recognized the best of interactive entertainment from 2022 to date, focusing mostly on the output of independent studios working within the region. Cult of the Lamb scuttled off with four well-deserved gongs, including Excellence in Art, Excellence in Music, Excellence in Gameplay, and the aforementioned Game of the Year award.

“After experiencing our success overseas, it was an amazing feeling to see our game really resonate with Australians as well,” said creative director Julian Wilton of the win. “We received such strong support locally and we love that it’s being enjoyed, not just for the gameplay, but also for the art and music.”

I’m not sure quite how many followers had to be sacrificed at the altar of “The One who Waits” to receive these awards, and I’m not sure I want to know.

In addition to Massive Monster’s success, the Australian Game Developer Awards committee — which consists of a panel of 70 industry specialists — also rewarded Studio Drydock with the prizes for Excellence in Narrative and Excellence in Mobile Games for its spellbinding farming title, Wylde Flowers. Gameloft, an industry veteran with a catalog packed full of mobile game success — was awarded Studio of the Year.

You can check out the full list of winners below.

Game of the Year: Cult of the Lamb

Excellence in Art: Cult of the Lamb

Excellence in Gameplay: Cult of the Lamb

Excellence in Narrative: Wylde Flowers

Excellence in Sound Design: Heavenly Bodies

Excellence in Music: Cult of the Lamb

Excellence in Technical Design: Age of Darkness: Final Stand

Excellence in Accessibility (Presented by VicScreen): Lost and Hound

Excellence in Mobile Games: Wylde Flowers

Excellence in AR/VR: Table of Tales: The Crooked Crown

Excellence in Serious Games (Applied/Impactful): Kinder World

Excellence in Emerging Games (Student or Early Career): Queer Man Peering Into A Rock Pool.jpg

Excellence in Ongoing Games (Games as a Service): The Oregon Trail

Rising Star Award: Raymond Corrigan

Ambition Award: Ryan McMahon

Adam Lancman Award: Clara Reeves

Studio of the Year: Gameloft

About The Author
Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s and writing about them since the 1880s. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse
More Stories by Chris Moyse