‘Super-secret’ Crypt of the NecroDancer news coming tomorrow

crypt of the necrodancer news august 4 brace yourself games

Dance into Danger

An exciting update for fans of the excellent rhythm-action series Crypt of the NecroDancer: developer Brace Yourself Games has announced that it has some new “super-secret” news pertaining to the beat-heavy dungeon crawler — news it will share with us all as soon as tomorrow, August 4.

Brace yourselves, everyone,” teased the indie outfit on Twitter, “because we’ve got some super-secret NecroDancer-related news comin’ at you this Thursday, August 4th.”

Released back in 2015, Crypt of the NecroDancer takes the classic fantasy adventure of yesteryear and marries it with intense rhythm-action gameplay and a simply delicious electro-score. Players guide a young warrior maiden as she picks her way through an array of monster-filled dungeons, moving and fighting to the beat of the game’s soundtrack.

An incredibly infectious and compelling adventure, NecroDancer has only grown in popularity over the ensuing years, reaching the dizzy heights of a Nintendo collaboration for the acclaimed Legend of Zelda spin-off Cadence of Hyrule. As for this new venture… It could be another franchise collaboration, it could be a brand new DLC expansion, or we could even see the reveal of a new sequel or spin-off title. For now, we’ll just have to be patient, as the truth will be out soon enough.

The announcement will go live on the official Brace Yourself Games YouTube channel tomorrow at 10:00 PT / 13:00 ET / 18:00 BST. We’ll be sure to bring all of the dancefloor-clearing news right here on Destructoid. Crypt of the NecroDancer is available right now on PS4, PC, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and mobile platforms.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse