Xbox and Future Games Show lock in their Gamescom 2021 showcases

Closing out the summer of gaming news with a few showcases

The summer’s almost over, and while E3 2021 is in the rearview, Gamescom 2021 is just ahead. Today, two organizations announced their Gamescom 2021 plans: one a publisher, and the other a conglomeration of publishers and developers.

Xbox and Future have both announced their Gamescom 2021 plans this morning, with streams set to air during Gamescom week. Xbox will be streaming on Aug. 24 at 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET, while the Future Games Show at Gamescom will air on Aug. 26 at 1 p.m. PT / 4 p.m. ET.

On the Xbox side, Microsoft says it will have in-depth updates on previously announced Xbox Game Studios titles, alongside some third-party partners. That also includes some upcoming releases for Xbox Game Pass as well.

As Xbox’s Aaron Greenberg says on Twitter though, there won’t be any new reveals or “major surprises,” so set your expectations accordingly. It seems like this stream will focus particularly on what’s in store and announced for this year.

The Future Games Show at Gamescom 2021, meanwhile, will be hosting a number of games from various publishers and developers. Including in the announcement are Frontier Developments, Team17, Koch Media, and Tripwire Interactive, as well as a “few surprises.”

Also airing that week will be Gamescom Opening Night Live, another showcase stream hosted by Geoff Keighley. So it sounds like we’ve got another week full of showcases and news, though at least one of those is setting expectations as far as surprises go.

Either way, Gamescom 2021 seems like it’ll be good for confirming what’s in store for the holiday season, especially as delays have pushed so many launches back. Here’s looking forward to one more hurrah for the summer of 2021 during Gamescom week.

Eric Van Allen