Wrath of the Lich King Classic global launch times and guides

World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Classic launches globally today and Destructoid sister site Icy Veins is here to tell you all about it, including an assortment of guides.

Recommended Videos

Global Release Times

Wrath Classic launches in the Americas, Europe, Taiwan, Korea, and Australia/New Zealand simultaneously. Check the details below for the exact time you can log in to the game and explore all that the new expansion has to offer.

Wrath of the Lich King Classic launch times

What’s New?

  • New Continent: Northrend – Heroes will begin their journey in one of two zones in Northrend — Borean Tundra or Howling Fjord. A vast new continent awaits!
  • New Hero Class: Death Knights – Available to both factions at Level 55Death Knights harness the powers of darkness to help combat the evil that threatens Azeroth. In Wrath Classic, Blizard is bypassing the requirement for a player’s first Death Knight character, unless they decide to pick a fresh realm.
  • New Profession: Inscription – Scribe mystical glyphs that modify the properties of spells and abilities or create powerful trinkets and off-hand items.
  • Achievements – Show off your accomplishments and earn various rewards in WoW Classic!
  • Dungeons & Raids – Multiple new dungeons and 3 raids will be available during Phase 1.

Wrath of the Lich King Classic is included with existing World of Warcraft subscriptions. If you subscribe to World of Warcraft, you can also play Wrath of the Lich King Classic at no additional cost.

Wrath of the Lich King Classic screenshot

New Hero Class: Death Knight

Death Knights are a new Hero Class available in Wrath Classic. They start at Level 55 in Ebon Hold and have 3 specializations to choose from: BloodFrost, and Unholy. You do not need an existing Level 55 character on the same realm to create your first Death Knight in Wrath ClassicFresh start realms are an exception to the rule. Any Death Knight created after your first one must be on a different realm, and requires an existing Level 55 character on the same realm. Completing the Death Knight intro in Wrath Classic rewards the Frostbrood Proto-Wyrm mount on live servers.

If you’re playing a Death Knight in Wrath Classic, we have a set of guides specifically tailored to help you with leveling, gearing, talents, addons, and macros.

Inscription is a new Profession that lets you craft powerful items called glyphs that enhance spells and abilities. Scribes can create various trinkets and off-hand items.


Our guide writers have prepared Tier Lists for Wrath Classic Phase 1 that we sort by player role (DPS, Healer, Tank) and content type (PvE/PvP/Arenas). Find out more about how each class performs in a different type of scenario.
Wrath of the Lich King Classic artwork


Twelve new dungeons are available at Wrath Classic launch with four more coming in later phases.

The new maximum skill cap for all professions is raised to 450. In Wrath Classic, professions offer various bonuses to your character. Our profession guides provide you with clear instructions on how to effectively level up your professions and reach the max cap.

About The Author
Icy Veins
More Stories by Icy Veins