Williams sisters, Sharapova, and Osaka among stars taking part in Mario Tennis charity tournament

‘Stay at Home Slam’ takes place this weekend

A selection of the world’s finest tennis pro’s – alongside a number of celebrities I’m too old to know – will come together this weekend for a Mario Tennis Aces charity tournament.

The “Stay at Home Slam” event is a joint promotion of Facebook Gaming and IMG Tennis, and will see court legends such as Maria Sharapova, Naomi Osaka, Kei Nishikori, and the indomitable Williams sisters rally with singer Seal, DJ Steve Aoki, supermodel Karlie Kloss, and NFL star Ryan Tannehill. Match commentary will be provided by the natural pairing of ’80s champion John McEnroe and popular tech blogger iJustine.

All competitors will be awarded $25,000 for a charity of their choosing, with the winning team’s cause receiving a mighty one million dollar donation. If you want to check out the action for yourself, the tournament will stream live on Facebook Gaming. Tune in on Sunday, May 3, at 13:00 PT / 16:00 ET / 21:00 BST.

The full list of participants, along with their doubles partners, are as follows:

  • Serena Williams & Gigi Hadid
  • Naomi Osaka & Hailey Bieber
  • Venus Williams & Deandre Hopkins
  • Maria Sharapova & Karlie Kloss
  • Kei Nishikori & Steve Aoki
  • Madison Keys & Seal
  • Taylor Fritz & Addison Rae
  • Kevin Anderson & Ryan Tannehill

Serena Williams, Naomi Osaka will play in a celebrity Mario Tennis tournament [The Verge]

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors.