Turn it up: Gran Turismo 5 Prologue soundtrack details revealed

We already know that Gran Turismo 5 Prologue looks real purdy. Now Sony sends along details on how next month’s release will sound.

A press release tells us that soundtrack is headlined by an in-game exclusive remix of Weezer’s “Automatic,” from the band’s upcoming album and an EL-P remix of Mars Volta’s “Goliath.”  Expect indie dance rock, electronica, classic rock and remixes, with musical acts like Weezer, Mars Volta, Justice, The Klaxons, Friendly Fires and DJ Shadow in the line up of a dozen exclusive singles.

“The Gran Turismo 5 Prologue soundtrack gives fans the perfect audio accompaniment to high-octane racing from Daytona to Eiger Nordwand,” said Jeff Reese, director, software marketing, SCEA. “The edgy variety of music complements the pure adrenaline rush fans experience as they eclipse 200 miles-per-hour in the most authentic driving simulator around.”

In my book, Gran Turismo music has ranged from smooth jazz borefests to off-the-wall goodness. What has never made sense to me is the weird range of tracks in these games. Remember the Snoop Dogg track? What the hell was that?

Hit the jump for the full list of songs for the North American version. 

Gran Turismo 5 Prologue North American Soundtrack
Exclusive Tracks to North America
— Weezer – “Automatic” (LA Riots remix)
— The Mars Volta – “Goliath” (EL-P remix)
— Justice – “Let There Be Light”
— SebastiAn – “Dolami”
— Kavinsky – “Testarossa Autodrive” (SebastiAn remix)
— DJ Shadow – “LOVE LOVE”
— Does it Offend You, Yeah? – “With a Heavy Heart (I Regret to
Inform You)”
— The Earaches – “Not the Kind of Man I Am”
— Thin Lizzy – “The Rocker (Richard Evans Mix)”
— The Klaxons – “Golden Skans”
— Friendly Fires – “On Board”
— Pride Tiger – “Let ‘Em Go”

International Tracks also on the North American Soundtrack
— Masahiro Andoh – “Moon Over The Castle” (Gran Turismo 5
Prologue version)
— Nittoku Inoue – “Road Star”
— Nittoku Inoue – “100,000 R.P.M.”
— Nittoku Inoue – “Get Away”
— Nittoku Inoue – “V12”
— Nittoku Inoue – “Kill Switch”
— naomee – “Vanish From Angel”
— naomee – “Sky High Mountain Breeze”
— naomee – “Twieky 4”
— Daiki Kasho – “Surv1v3”
— Daiki Kasho – “Edge of the World”
— Daiki Kasho – “Flow”
— Goose – “Check”
— Goose – “3T4”
— Goose – “Everybody”
— Backdraft ft Tor – “Off The Wall”
— Alloy Mental – “We have Control”
— Reverend & The Makers – “The Machine”

About The Author
Dale North
More Stories by Dale North