Tokyo Game Show 2023: Where to watch and what to look out for

Where to look for all the news coming out of TGS this year.
Tokyo Game Show 2023 stream
Image via TGS

It’s time once again to check out a bunch of streams and showcases, as trailers abound at the Tokyo Game Show 2023. The event is being held in-person and online over the next few days, and there’s sure to be news on all kinds of games as we near the fall season.

Recommended Videos

Arguably, the TGS festivities have already begun. Sony and Nintendo aired both their big showcases ahead of the big event, and RGG Studio came out swinging with a release date for Like a Dragon: Infinite Wealth.

If you’re worried the trailer salvo is already spent, though, don’t be. Big names like Square Enix, HoYoverse, Sega, Atlus, Level-5, Capcom, and more are still on the docket.

The schedule and games shown at the Tokyo Game Show 2023

The 2023 lineup includes all those names, plus a few smaller ones you may not recognize. We’re likely to hear news about Level-5’s remaining 2023 titles, whatever HoYoverse may be putting together, and even Koei Tecmo’s upcoming Fate/Samurai Remnant.

Plus, a few extra trailers and dates are likely to trickle out throughout the week. This is the last real time for big game news before the fall season gets underway. A speak-now-or-forever-hold-your-streams, if you will.

So let’s take a look at the schedule ahead for the days to come and spotlight some streams to look out for. All times will be converted to US time zones, PT and ET.

Wednesday, September 20

  • Arc System Works [9:50 p.m. ET/6:50 p.m. PT]: The fighting game studio will host several streams during Tokyo Game Show 2023, starting with this first stream here. Expect some news on the new Under Night In-Birth entry, as well as Guilty Gear Strive.
  • Keynote Speech [10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT]: The opening keynote for the show, with guests Pierre Loup Griffais and Erik Peterson of Valve, Capcom’s William Yagi-Bacon, Bandai Namco’s Katsuhiro Harada. – YouTube/Twitch
  • Bandai Namco [N/A]: Bandai Namco is set to air stage shows and reveals throughout the week, so we’ll just put their info up here at the top. Check out their YouTube channel for premiere times in your time zone.

Thursday, September 21

  • Microsoft Japan [5 a.m. ET/2 a.m. PT]: No firm details on what’s being shown, outside the latest information from creators mainly based in Japan and other parts of Asia. – YouTube/Twitch
  • 505 Games [6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT]: The publisher is bringing some updates on Crime Boss: Rockay City, Miasma Chronicles, The Magical Mixture Mills, and Ghostrunner 2. – YouTube/Twitch
  • Sega/Atlus [7 a.m. ET/4 a.m. PT]: Sega and Atlus team up with some info about Sonic Superstars, Persona 5 Tactica, and more. The company also plans on streaming throughout the week, showing off its games. – YouTube/Twitch
  • Level-5 [8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT]: A potentially noteworthy stream for Tokyo Game Show 2023, as Level-5 is set to talk about Inazuma Eleven, Decapolice, Fantasy Life i, and Megaton Musashi. – YouTube/Twitch
  • Koei Tecmo [9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT]: Fate/Samurai Remnant takes the stage, with the latest gameplay footage and trailers as well as the voice actors behind the action. – YouTube/Twitch
  • Capcom [10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT]: Anyone awaiting Dragon’s Dogma 2 will want to catch this stream, as it will feature a presentation by Director Hideaki Itsuno. Additionally, expect to see footage of Apollo Justice: Ace Attorney Trilogy, Street Fighter 6, Resident Evil 4, and Exoprimal. Capcom’s also set to host several streams throughout the week on their own channels. – YouTube/Twitch
  • Yu Suzuki talks Air Twister [10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT]: Want to see the creator of Shenmue talk about Air Twister? You can do just that, here, in this stream. – YouTube

Friday, September 22

  • Koei Tecmo [5 a.m. ET/2 a.m. PT]: We’re due to hear more about the new Atelier game, some Wo-Long: Fallen Dynasty DLC Content Volume 2 info, and more here. – YouTube
  • HoYoverse [6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. ET]: Learn new info about HoYoverse’s stable of games. Zenless Zone Zero is certainly a hopeful. – YouTube
  • Square Enix [8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT]: Square’s Eiko Kano, Kenta Sakai, and Masayuki Kibe visit booths and play anticipated titles. Final Fantasy VII Rebirth is set to appear here, as well as Foamstars. Keep in mind, Square is also hosting a large stage full of events with more gameplay, and you can find the full schedule for that here. – YouTube/Twitch
related content
Read Article Avatar: Frontiers of Pandora receives major bug fixes, quality of life improvements
Where to find Canopy Root in Avatar Frontiers of Pandora
Read Article Octopath Traveler is temporarily unavailable on the eShop, but it’s coming back ‘soon’
Octopath Traveler Switch eShop
Read Article Palia patch 0.177 adds three new furniture sets and retains fan favorite Luna New Year recipes
The tower in Bahari Bay in Palia
Related Content
Read Article Avatar: Frontiers of Pandora receives major bug fixes, quality of life improvements
Where to find Canopy Root in Avatar Frontiers of Pandora
Read Article Octopath Traveler is temporarily unavailable on the eShop, but it’s coming back ‘soon’
Octopath Traveler Switch eShop
Read Article Palia patch 0.177 adds three new furniture sets and retains fan favorite Luna New Year recipes
The tower in Bahari Bay in Palia
Author
Eric Van Allen
Senior Editor - While Eric's been writing about games since 2014, he's been playing them for a lot longer. Usually found grinding RPG battles, digging into an indie gem, or hanging out around the Limsa Aethryte.
Author
Eric Van Allen
Senior Editor - While Eric's been writing about games since 2014, he's been playing them for a lot longer. Usually found grinding RPG battles, digging into an indie gem, or hanging out around the Limsa Aethryte.