These are the 12 songs by The Who coming to Rock Band in July

Some musicians snub their noses at Rock Band, shouting, “Play a real instrument,” in the general direction of gamers. The Who’s guitarist, Pete Townshend, is not one of them.

“I’m a fan of Rock Band,” said Townshend. “I play the game with my son and girlfriend and love the way it brings different generations together through music. I like the idea that people of all ages will have fun playing our songs.”

The songs he’s referring to, of course, are the whopping 12 Who songs — handpicked by Townshend and the band’s lead singer, Roger Daltrey — which will be available as downloadable content on July 15 (for Xbox 360, July 17 for PlayStation Network).

Here are the songs in the massive pack, all of which are master tracks or taken from live recordings:

  • “Amazing Journey”          
  • “Baba O’Riley”
  • “Behind Blue Eyes”
  • “Eminence Front”
  • “Going Mobile”
  • “Leaving Here”
  • “My Generation” (Live at Leeds)
  • “Real Good Looking Boy”
  • “Sea & Sand”
  • “Summertime Blues” (Live at Leeds)
  • “Who Are You”
  • “Young Man Blues” (Live at Leeds)

Do want? The 12-song pack will run you $19.99 (1600 MS Points for Xbox 360), while songs can be purchased individually for $1.99 (160 MS Points for Xbox 360). The release of the songs will coincide with VH1’s Rock Honors special for The Who, which airs on July 17.

Nick Chester