The Idolmaster gets new title announcement January 20

Some Like it Pop

Fans of cult anime management series The Idolmaster will want to keep their ears to the ground next month, as publisher Bandai Namco has announced that an all-new title will be announced on January 20, joining the already mammoth catalogue of arcade, console, mobile and social media entries.

For those less inclined, The Idolmaster series began way back in 2005 and consists of over 20 titles, almost all of which task the player with the design and marketing of J-Pop idols. The games feature elements of management sims, rhythm-action titles, and dating sims. The franchise success, particularly in its home territory of Japan, has even led to the production of several tie-in anime series.

There are no currently no details regarding the new release, but we do know it will be developed for home consoles, and will be revealed during a livestream set for January 20 at 20:00 JST (so 03:00 PT / 06:00 ET / 12:00 BST). 


The Idolmaster console game announcement set for January 20 [Gematsu]

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse