Geoff Keighley teases The Game Awards reveal over two years in the making

the game awards tease geoff keighley

Place Your Bets

Geoff Keighley continued to stoke the flames of hype this weekend, as the clock counts down to this year’s Game Awards event. Speaking on his Twitter just yesterday, producer Keighley teased a world premiere reveal set for the December event, which will announce a brand new game almost three years in the making.

“Just saw the final cut of a #thegameawards world premiere we have been working on with a developer for 2.5 years. Truly honored we are entrusted to share this work with the world,” said Keighley of the mystery title.2.5 years sounds like a long time, but summer of 2019 was actually my last global tour to visit developers. I always have so much fun visiting studios and hearing about their projects. Hope to do it again in 2022.

What could it be? Could be almost anything, frankly, but there are a host of IPs and franchises that have been churning in the rumor mill for some years. All will be revealed a little over a week from today, when The Game Awards emanates live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. Viewers can expect a metric ton of trailers, updates, and reveals, along with the titular awards themselves. Check out the full list of categories and nominees.

The Game Awards 2021 will take place December 9 at 17:00 PT / 20:00 ET / 01:00 BST.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse