Super Mario 3D World + Bowser’s Fury theme drops into Tetris 99 Maximus Cup

When you see it…

Battle royale block-dropper Tetris 99 is gearing up for its next Maximus Cup event, which is set to take place in-game this coming weekend, allowing players to square off against a horde of fellow Tetris fans in chaotic, non-stop action.

There’s also extra incentive to jump into battle for Mario fans, as all players who accumulate 100 event points will receive a free theme, based on smash-selling Switch release Super Mario 3D World + Bowser’s Fury. As per usual, the theme comes complete with background art, as well as unique sounds and Tetrimino shapes inspired by the Wii-U remake. Launching on Switch in early February, Super Mario 3D World + Bowser’s Fury saw immediate success, and is currently the best-selling new game of 2021.

The new Tetris Maximus Cup event will begin Thursday, March 4 at 23:00 PT and Friday, March 5 at 02:00 ET / 07:00 GMT and will end at the same time on Monday, March 8 and Tuesday, March 9 as applicable.

Good luck!

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors.