Surprise, Sony State of Play returns on September 13

Sony State of Play

Bah gawd, that’s the PlayStation boot music

Sony is joining the list of publishers rolling out a showcase this week. A new State of Play is set to air tomorrow, September 13, with updates on all things PlayStation.

Announced just 24 hours ahead of its air time, the Sony State of Play will go live at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT on Sony’s Twitch and YouTube channels.

In its announcement, Sony notes that the Tokyo Game Show is just around the corner. For the State of Play, Sony says to expect some updates from its Japanese partners, along with a “few other surprises” from developers around the world.

The show is expected to come in at about 20 minutes of reveals, new updates, and gameplay for 10 games. Platform-wise, Sony identifies the PlayStation 5, PS4, and PlayStation VR 2.

The week to come in showcase streams

This puts Sony at the opposite end of tomorrow’s news cycle from Nintendo, which is hosting its September Nintendo Direct at 7 a.m. PT / 10 a.m. ET.

In the week ahead, several more publishers and developers are planning streams for the Tokyo Game Show 2022. Square Enix, Capcom, Konami, Bandai Namco, and more will all host streams throughout the week.

As for what Sony still has to show, there are several games in its own studio pipeline. God of War Ragnarok is currently aiming for its launch in November, while other projects like Insomniac’s Marvel games are further down the line.

Japanese partners could cover a broad swath as well. Square Enix has made several State of Play appearances, as has Capcom. With just about 20 minutes set for this Sony State of Play, across 10, it will probably be a pretty fast and to-the-point show.

We’ll see what Sony has in store for its September State of Play tomorrow, at 6:00 p.m. ET.

Eric Van Allen