Pro gaming hits CBS today

In a continual baby step effort toward mainstream attention, and ultimately success, pro gaming plops into the major network light today when CBS airs today at 3 p.m. Eastern the Video Game Super Stars program. The show will feature players of the World Series of Video Games and of course Johnathan “Fatal1ty” Wendel. Here are the deets:

Video Game Super Stars, presented by Intel reveals the compelling personal stories of five rising stars of the competitive video gaming world.  Filmed during the World Series of Video Games Finals and on location from the gamers’ hometowns, the program focuses on Johnathan “Fatal1ty” Wendel, the world champion gamer who has become the “Michael Jordan” of the sport; Rafik “LoSt-CaUzE” Bryant, who uses his renown as a top gamer to help advance efforts in global philanthropy; David “Moto” Geffon, whose decision to go pro bucked the tradition of his family of lawyers; Shannon “Mary Jane” Ridge, the minister’s daughter who is now a Halo run-and-gunner; and Matt “Ballistics” Powers whose prowess at “Ghost Recon” is honed as a Sergeant at maximum security prison Pelican Bay and tempered as a father of two.

The program airs at 3pm ET, 2pm CT, 1pm MT, 12pm PT (check local listings) on Saturday Saturday, December 30th.   It is sponsored by Intel, Xbox 360, Fatal1ty Brands and ATI.

Annoyingly bad title and all, it’s a very positive direction for video games. Will you be tuning in? 

Robert Summa