Live A Live 26th anniversary live stream promises a ‘surprise’

(So look surprised)

Square Enix has announced that it will be holding a live stream this weekend to celebrate the 26th anniversary of quirky Super Famicom RPG Live A Live.

Originally released back in 1994, Live A Live shook up the RPG scene by infusing several unique gameplay ideas. These include the concept of guiding multiple characters through wildly disconnected scenarios, as well as showcasing adaptive gameplay that changes up the battle system and other mechanics as the story progresses.

The stream will feature guest appearances from original Live A Live team members, including director Takashi Tokita, artist Kazuyuki Kurashima, composer Yoko Shimomura, and battle director Nobuyuki Inoue. Most notably, Square Enix promises a “surprise,” which is likely connected to the new trademark filed by the publisher back in July.

The Live A Live stream will take place Saturday, October 3 at 20:00 JST, which is a bleary-eyed 04:00 PT / 07:00 ET. You can check out the presentation on the official Square Enix YouTube channel. We’ll be sure to keep you informed of any reveals right here on Destructoid – so maybe just have a lie-in instead… And remember yer boy’s working for ya.

Live A Live 26th anniversary live stream set for October 3 [Gematsu]

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse