How to restart or delete save data in Pokémon Scarlet & Violet

Reset your save file fast in Pokémon Scarlet & Violet

There are many reasons why you’d want to start your save file over in Pokémon Scarlet & Violet. Maybe you didn’t like how your character looked. Or maybe you changed your mind about your starter Pokémon because they’re all too dang lovable. For whatever reason, here’s how to restart your save file in Pokémon Scarlet & Violet.

First, if you’re used to the menus of older games, you might look for the option to delete your file on the title screen. Scarlet & Violet have no such option, but don’t fret, you’re not locked into your save file. Instead, you’ll handle your save file from your Switch’s system menu.

How to delete your save file

1: From your system’s main menu, look for the “System Settings” icon on the bottom row

2: Scroll down the system settings menu until you find “Data Management”

3: From this menu, select “Delete Save Data.” You will be prompted to close your game if you have one running in the background

4: Select “Pokémon Scarlet” or “Pokémon Violet,” depending on which you’re playing. You can delete the save data for one profile, or for everyone playing the game on your system

5: Confirm that you want to delete your save data

Or, you can create a new user profile

After that step, you’re all done! You’ll be able to hop back into the game with a clean slate. If you want to start a new file but don’t want to delete your old data, you can also create a new user profile on your system. When you start the game, select the “+” when the system prompts you to select a user, create a new profile, and use that to play the game. Just like that, two save files for the price of one!

Timothy Monbleau