Fire Emblem Heroes returns to its roots for 30th anniversary of the franchise

Tipping the hat to Famicom classic

On Monday, the legendary Fire Emblem franchise will celebrate its 30th anniversary. That’s 30 years of smiley teens with a myriad of hair colours taking on dangerous quests in gorgeous fantasy worlds. To mark the occasion, Nintendo will release a new batch of “Special Heroes” to its mobile battler Fire Emblem Heroes.

The new warriors joining the pool next week are Caeda, the Princess of Talys; trainee wind mage Merric; and Palla, who is accompanied by her sisters Catria and Est. There’s also a Marth, because there’s always a Marth. All of these characters debuted in Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon and the Blade of Light, which launched on the Famicom way back in April 1990.

Along with this new quartet of a character,  a new paralogue chapter will be made available, fittingly titled The Start of It All. The 30th anniversary update will go live in-game on April 20 at 00:00 PT / 03:00 ET / 07:00 BST.

Fire Emblem Heroes is available now on iOS and Android devices.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors.