Fire Emblem Heroes gets its goth on with Dark Burdens event

Wearing sunglasses at night

Nintendo has released a new trailer for the next update headed to mobile battler Fire Emblem Heroes. It appears that this latest event is gonna get a bit broody, as a quartet of darker, edgier dudes and dudettes prepare to join the free-to-play title’s mammoth roster.

Joining FEH as part of the Dark Burdens summoning event are Fire Emblem Fates‘ Corrin, Genealogy of the Holy War‘s Julia, Radiant Dawn‘s Ike, and sinister Sacred Stones antagonist Lyon. While Lyon is already a nasty bastard by design, the other three roster additions are boasting new nihilistic style. Make mine a Strongbow Dark Fruits.

As always, the four new characters will be accompanied by the new story event “Steeped in Twilight,” which may go some way toward explaining why everybody’s gone so grim-dark. The Dark Burdens summoning event will go live in-game on May 8 at 00:00 PT and May 9 at 03:00 ET / 08:00 BST.

Fire Emblem Heroes is available now on iOS and Android devices.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors.