Fire Emblem Heroes gets into the party spirit with New Year’s update

Dream Warriors

Not content with a slew of recent festive updates, the endless adventures of Nintendo’s mobile battler Fire Emblem Heroes is getting set to ring changes, (and heads), with the arrival of its New Year’s event. The new update offers a quartet of returning characters, bedecked in finery fitting the occasion.

The “New Year: Special Heroes” event sees the return of Fire Emblem Heroes’ dream-master Plumeria, along with grumpy wolf-gal Velouria and narcissistic fox-boy Kaden from Fire Emblem Fates. Rounding out the quartet is a new Dual-Hero in the form of Ljósálfar Peony and Dökkálfar Triandra – the latter of whom seems a little uncomfortable stripped of her typically Gothic attire.

Alongside these four new hero variants, the update includes a party-themed paralogue story, “Beyond Dreaming”. In addition, last year’s New Year’s heroes have returned to the gacha sack for a limited time, offering players another opportunity to bag party variants of Anna, Selkie, Lethe, and Dual-Hero Alfonse & Shareena. The new update will go live in-game tomorrow, December 31, at 23:00 PT and Friday, January 1, at 02:00 ET / 08:00 BST.

At the start of 2020, Fire Emblem Heroes was Nintendo’s most profitable mobile title by a country mile. Assuming that the free-to-play title has continued its winning ways in the past 12 months, it’s very likely that Nintendo is set to continue pushing the pocket-sized adventure to further glory in 2021.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors.