Dragon’s Dogma will release a 10th anniversary celebration video this week

dragon's dogma anniversary capcom video

I hereby announce a video that may be nothing

[Update: While the anniversary stream was almost entirely a recap of Dragon’s Dogma‘s development, game director Hideaki Itsuno did confirm Dragon’s Dogma II is in development using the RE Engine.]

During today’s Capcom Showcase live stream, director Hideaki Itsuno put in an appearance to relay a message about the popular fantasy RPG series Dragon’s Dogma.

While no actual announcements were made, Itsuno noted that the series celebrates its 10th anniversary this year, and that Capcom has prepared a special video to celebrate Dragon’s Dogma and its games, lore, anime, and community. The video will go live on Thursday, June 16, at 15:00 PT / 18:00 ET / 23:00 BST. The video will be available on Capcom’s social media channels such as YouTube and Twitter.

Now, it’s understandable that this seemed like a potential tease, and that perhaps the upcoming Dragon’s Dogma anniversary celebrations might be an opening to spotlight some new project related to the series — the hungry fanbase would surely love such an exciting development. But it might be better for your health to temper those expectations and just enjoy the video without too high a hope. You would think that if Capcom did have a remake, remaster, sequel, or some other new title to announce, then they might have done it during tonight’s stream, or perhaps at last week’s Summer Game Fest.

So, just, keep yo’self in check… FOR NOW… (but really, don’t get your hopes up.)

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse