Devolver Digital outlines its plans for Summer Games Fest 2021

‘No, I don’t think ‘WE Are the Goo’ is the same as ‘We ARE the Goo”

Devolver Digital has offered a teasing glimpse into its plans for the upcoming Summer Games Fest 2021 event. The irreverent, punk-rock publisher has four brand new game titles waiting in the wings, alongside new footage from some of its previously announced releases.

Fans can expect more footage and details from morbid, soul-stealing adventure Death’s Door, which is currently in development at studio Acid Nerve. We’ll also get to see Team WIBY’s asynchronous dungeon crawler Phantom Abyss, as well as more details on Flying Wild Hog’s utterly boombastic shooter sequel Shadow Warrior 3. Here’s hoping for that long-awaited release date.

As for the four new titles? Well, Devolver is currently remaining completely tight-lipped, so we don’t know whether to expect sequels and spin-offs, or entirely new releases from some of the industry’s coolest up-and-coming studios. Devolver’s announcement also featured an appearance from the disgusting Carrion puppet from last year’s event, set up like a political party organizer, but this may just be a funny image, as opposed to any sort of sequel hint.

Summer Games Fest 2021 kicks off June 10 at 11:00 PT / 14:00 ET / 19:00 BST.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors.