Destiny 2 The Root of Nightmares Raid: Start time and contest mode information

Who will we meet this time? With the launch of Destiny 2: Lightfall comes a brand new raid. Whilst Bungie hasn’t given...
Image via Bungie

Who will we meet this time?

Recommended Videos

With the launch of Destiny 2: Lightfall comes a brand new raid. Whilst Bungie hasn’t given away too much information as yet, thanks to a small teaser trailer posted earlier this week we do know it’s going to be set on one of the pyramid ships. There’s no official word on the end boss yet, but fans speculate that it may be another of the Witness’ disciples.

As Guardians prepare for another gruelling test of their skill and communication amongst fire teams, there are a few important details to be aware of if you’re gearing up for the Root of Nightmares raid.

When does the Root of Nightmares raid begin?

The Root of Nightmares raid begins at 9AM PST / 12PM EST / 5PM GMT on March 10. For the first 48 hours, the raid will be in Contest Mode where fireteams will compete to win the prestigious World’s First title and a commemorative belt adorned with their clan name. Contest mode ends at 9AM PST / 12PM EST / 5PM GMT on March 12.

Guardians will nreed to be at 1780 Power to be at the cap for all encounters. Contest Mode will cap Guardians at 20 power levels below all of the encounters for the full 48 hours of the race. Artifact power is enabled but only provides benefit to players up to 1780 power.

To win the World’s First race players must complete all encounters, loot the final chest, and return to orbit. Bungie will then review the win and announce the winning team on its Twitter page.

How to earn the exclusive Root of Nightmares emblems

Image via Bungie

Throughout Contest Mode Bungie will be partnering with Twitch Rivals for the race. Twitch drops will be enabled, so make sure to link your Bungie account with Twitch via the instructions on streamers’ overlays. Viewers will receive the exclusive Dim Italics emblem for watching any of the participating partner or affiliate streamers for two hours between 8.30AM PST / 11.30AM EST / 4.30PM GMT and 12.30PM PST / 3.30PM EST / 8.30PM GMT. You can find the full list of participating streamers on the Twitch Rivals page.

Image via Bungie

As well as this, for watching any streamer playing Destiny 2 for any two hours during the first 48 hours of the raid, players will receive the Particle Acceleration emblem above.

How to earn the raid rewards

Image via Bungie

Players who complete the Root of Nightmares raid before March 21 will have the opportunity to purchase the exclusive raid jacket from the Bungie Store. There will also be a raid pin and Dream Warrior title available throughout the whole of the Season of Defiance. You can learn more in the Bungie Store.

There will also be an emblem for completing the raid in Contest Mode and a separate one for completing it at any time. Bungie has not yet publicized these, so we won’t, although they are out there to view on the web.

Destiny 2: Lightfall is out now for PC, PlayStation, and Xbox.

related content
Read Article FF7 Rebirth: Enemy Skill Materia guide
FF7 Rebirth Enemy Skill Materia guide
Read Article FF7 Rebirth: Every Queen’s Blood card and where to get them
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Every Queen's Blood card location
Read Article Baldur’s Gate 3: How to enter and exit Ansur’s Lair in the Wyrmway
Entrance to Ansur's Lair
Related Content
Read Article FF7 Rebirth: Enemy Skill Materia guide
FF7 Rebirth Enemy Skill Materia guide
Read Article FF7 Rebirth: Every Queen’s Blood card and where to get them
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Every Queen's Blood card location
Read Article Baldur’s Gate 3: How to enter and exit Ansur’s Lair in the Wyrmway
Entrance to Ansur's Lair
Author
Cheri Faulkner
Guides Writer || Cheri is a freelance guides writer for Destructoid having joined in early 2023. She is also published in the likes of NME, Metro, TechRadar, The Loadout, PCGamesN and more as well as writing about music in the pages of Metal Hammer and Prog Magazine.
Author
Cheri Faulkner
Guides Writer || Cheri is a freelance guides writer for Destructoid having joined in early 2023. She is also published in the likes of NME, Metro, TechRadar, The Loadout, PCGamesN and more as well as writing about music in the pages of Metal Hammer and Prog Magazine.