Destiny 2 is jettisoning content soon, but this YouTuber preserved it for everyone

Destiny 2: The Series

We’re getting down to the wire when it comes to Destiny 2‘s “vaulted” content. Look, I sort of get it. Bungie doesn’t want the game to be overly bloated to the point where it requires an unwieldy amount of storage space on consoles. But…that’s sort of the game you made when you introduced more and more live service elements to Destiny?

Whatever your opinion on the matter might be, it’s happening, but one YouTuber is vowing to preserve that removed content (which will allegedly be cycled back in eventually) in the form of Destiny: The Series videos. While it isn’t exactly playable, content creator Jabonte is chronicling the portions of the game that will be gone by the time the next expansion hits: complete with rundowns of their loadouts (down to the armor piece).

Each “episode” is around 15-30 minutes long, allowing players to conveniently catch up on story elements once the narratives are missing. On their YouTube channel, they pretty much have it all covered, hitting the “Red War” chapter from 1.0, through Curse of Osiris, into Warmind, Forsaken, and Shadowkeep.

Jabonte is going God’s work! While the story wasn’t firing on all cylinders (or even a few cylinders at times) until Forsaken, there are moments that are worth remembering in there. If you’re going into Destiny 2 for the first time when the new consoles hit, make sure you bookmark their work and catch up on some lore.

In case you need a refresher, you can find a list of core content (there are a few more nuances like vaulted items) that’s being vaulted on November 10 below.

[Thanks John!]


  • Red War
  • Curse of Osiris
  • Warmind
  • Season of the Forge
  • Season of the Drifter
  • Season of Opulence

PVP Modes:

  • Supremacy  
  • Countdown  
  • Lockdown  
  • Breakthrough  
  • Doubles  
  • Momentum Control
  • Scorched

Gambit Maps:

  • Cathedral of Scars (Dreaming City) 
  • Kell’s Grave (Tangled Shore) 

Crucible Maps:

  • Meltdown  
  • Solitude  
  • Retribution  
  • The Citadel  
  • Emperor’s Respite 
  • Equinox  
  • Eternity 
  • Firebase Echo 
  • Gambler’s Ruin  
  • Legion’s Gulch 
  • Vostok  


  • Leviathan 
  • Eater of Worlds (Leviathan) 
  • Spire of Stars (Leviathan) 
  • Scourge of the Past (Last City) 
  • Crown of Sorrows (Leviathan) 
About The Author
Chris Carter
Managing Editor - Chris has been enjoying Destructoid avidly since 2008. He finally decided to take the next step in January of 2009 blogging on the site. Now, he's staff!
More Stories by Chris Carter