Chapter breakdown: How many chapters are in Fire Emblem Engage?

There’s core missions, paralogues, and side content

The amount of time you spend in a Fire Emblem game is highly variable, especially if it has a ton of social content like Three Houses. While Fire Emblem Engage does pare a lot of those mechanics down, there’s still a lot to dig into. Here’s a breakdown of Engage, and how it compares to other recent entries.

There are 26 chapters in Fire Emblem Engage

As is the case with all of these games, chapters will have a variable length, depending on the complexity of the main mission, whether or not you’ve done any side content, and the difficulty level you’ve chosen. Expect most missions to take 45 minutes to an hour at maximum, including story content and the core battle itself.

Here’s a full list of every main chapter in Fire Emblem Engage:

  • Prologue: The Emblems
  • Chapter 1: Awake At Last
  • Chapter 2: Queen Lumera
  • Chapter 3: Hostilities
  • Chapter 4: A Land In Bloom
  • Chapter 5: Retaking The Castle
  • Chapter 6: The Stolen Ring
  • Chapter 7: Dark Emblem
  • Chapter 8: The Kingdom Of Might
  • Chapter 7: A Clash of Forces
  • Chapter 10: The Fell Dragon Sombron
  • Chapter 11: Retreat
  • Chapter 12: The Sentinels
  • Chapter 13: Heroes Of The Oasis
  • Chapter 14: The Battle For Solm
  • Chapter 15: Dancer In The Ruins
  • Chapter 16: Seashore Travels
  • Chapter 17: Serenity In Ruin
  • Chapter 18: The Cold Voyage
  • Chapter 17: Serenity In Ruin
  • Chapter 18: The Cold Voyage
  • Chapter 19: The Dead Town
  • Chapter 20: The Kingless Castle
  • Chapter 21: The Return
  • Chapter 22: The Fell and The Divine
  • Chapter 23: The Four Hounds
  • Chapter 24: Recollections
  • Chapter 25: The Final Guardian
  • Chapter 26: The Last Engage

There are also 15 Paralogues (side missions) to play, which are optional:

  • Paralogue 1: Budding Talent
  • Paralogue 2: Mysterious Merchant
  • Paralogue 3: The Exalt
  • Paralogue 4: The Lady of the Plains
  • Paralogue 5: The Radiant Hero
  • Paralogue 6: The Instructor
  • Paralogue 7: The Crux of Fate
  • Paralogue 8: The Azure Twin
  • Paralogue 9: The Holy Knight
  • Paralogue 10: The Sage Lord
  • Paralogue 11: The Dawn Maiden
  • Paralogue 12: The Young Lion
  • Paralogue 13: The Caring Princess
  • Paralogue 14: The Hero-King
  • Paralogue 15: The Connector
Fire Emblem
Image via Nintendo

How does Fire Emblem Engage compare to recent Fire Emblem games?

While it’s hard to directly compare Engage to Three Houses (which offers three core house storylines, plus additional campaign content), we can try.

  • Fire Emblem Awakening: 25 Chapters
  • Fire Emblem Fates: 27 chapters (Birthright), 27 chapters (Conquest), 27 chapters (Revelation)
  • Fire Emblem: Three Houses: 18 chapters (Black Eagles), 21 chapters (church), Golden Deer (22 chapters), Blue Lion (22 chapters)

Looking over the above list, Engage is about the same length as one major story path in most of the core modern Fire Emblem games.

About The Author
Chris Carter
Managing Editor - Chris has been enjoying Destructoid avidly since 2008. He finally decided to take the next step in January of 2009 blogging on the site. Now, he's staff!
More Stories by Chris Carter