Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War alpha is now available to download on PS4

Weekend Warriors

This weekend, PS4 players will get the exclusive opportunity to check out the next title in Activision’s gazillion-dollar franchise, Call of Duty. A multiplayer alpha for Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War is now available to download from the PSN store for all PS4 users, regardless of whether you have a PlayStation Plus account or not.

The alpha will go live today at 10:00 PT / 13:00 ET / 18:00 BST and will remain operational until the same time on Sunday. Weighing in at around 28GB, the alpha includes three six-on-six modes in the form of Team Deathmatch, Domination and, my personal favourite, Kill Confirmed. These modes will be playable on two all-new Black Ops Cold War maps: Miami and Satellite.


Also included in the alpha is a brand new mode, Combined Arms: Domination, a large-scale 12-on-12 battle that will lean heavily toward vehicular warfare, as players use a variety of tanks, snowmobiles, gunboats and other vessels in order to capture checkpoints on the wintry new maps Armada and Crossroads.

Traditional Loadout and Scorestreak options will be available during the alpha, and all partaking players will unlock an exclusive Calling Card for use in Modern Warfare, Warzone, and Black Ops Cold War. Speaking of Warzone, anyone pre-ordering Black Ops Cold War will gain instant access to operator Frank Woods for immediate use in the battle royale title.

Call of Duty Black Ops: Cold War launches November 13 on PS4, PS5, PC, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X.

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s. Former Saturday Night Slam Master. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors.