Big names dominate Writers Guild Award nominations

Two Assassin’s Creeds, Alien, and The Last of Us DLC

Anyone that’s of the belief that mainstream videogames are often devoid of great writing will need to look somewhere other than the Writers Guild of America for vindication. The organization’s nominees for Outstanding Achievement in Writing for Videogames have been revealed, and they’re all from quite well-known titles.

Ubisoft’s flagship franchise leads the way with two nominations, as Assassin’s Creed: Freedom Cry, and Assassin’s Creed Unity both got nods. Creative Assembly’s Alien: Isolation and Naughty Dog’s The Last of Us: Left Behind round out the list of nominees.

Naughty Dog’s no stranger to the award, as The Last of Us was the 2014 winner. Before that, it took home the prize in 2012 for Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception. When the 2015 award is presented on February 14, we’ll see if the studio can continue its trend of bringing home hardware.

About The Author
Brett Makedonski
While you laughing, we're passing, passing away. So y'all go rest y'all souls, 'Cause I know I'ma meet you up at the crossroads. Y'all know y'all forever got love from them Bone Thugs baby...
More Stories by Brett Makedonski