Awesome Games Done Quick 2019 starting soon!

Games Done Quick

Get revved up for another week of speedrunnin’

Yep, it’s already time for another Games Done Quick event. Not that that’s a bad thing, I always get a kick out of the great, week-long event, which sees video game experts from across the globe descend on a venue to show off their mad skills, whilst raising incredible sums of money for charity.

Now in its ninth year, AGDQ 2019 will emanate from the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel in Rockville, Maryland. Over the next seven days, people will perform speed runs – glitchless or otherwise – and a variety of other challenges on a huge range of titles old and new. Perennial favourites including various Zelda, Castlevania and Final Fantasy games are in attendance, as are newcomers like NieR: Automata, The Messenger and Dead Cells.

All money raised this year will be going toward the Prevent Cancer Foundation, a U.S.-based charity dedicated to researching, preventing and hopefully one day curing the terrible disease. You can find out more about the Prevent Cancer Foundation over at their official website.

AGDQ is always a good time. If you want to check out the action, then you can watch the event live over on the official Twitch stream right here. The schedule of all games and their expected time windows is right here. AGDQ 2019 begins this afternoon at 08:30 PT / 11:30 ET / 16:30 BST and ends on Sunday, January 13. Good luck to everyone involved with AGDQ this year. Here’s hoping for another excellent week and another record-breaking fundraiser.

Awesome Games Done Quick 2019 [Official Site / Twitch Stream]

Chris Moyse
Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s and writing about them since the 1880s. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse