Coiled Captors kicks off the Tiny Tina’s Wonderlands season pass

Tiny Tina's Wonderlands Coiled Captors DLC

The first Wonderlands DLC is out on April 21 with an escalating multi-week boss brawl

It feels like Tiny Tina’s Wonderlands *just* launched, but fans are ready for more stuff to shoot, and so is Gearbox. The first season pass DLC release, Coiled Captors, culminates in a firefight with an ancient god named Chums who, uh, looks like a long-lost Street Shark.

If you haven’t seen much of Wonderlands yet, you might be wondering what the heck’s going on, but this is pretty par for the course — the Coiled Captors DLC looks like a natural extension of the base game in a way that pads out the gameplay without taking big risks. As someone who hasn’t hit the level cap yet in their post-story adventuring, I’m here for it.

How to access the dungeon

By hopping over to Dreamveil Overlook (near Brighthoof) and chatting with Vesper, you’ll be able to reach Coiled Captors — and other DLC zones — with the Mirror of Mystery.

The premise of the DLC is a “replayable dungeon challenge” with a multi-phase boss, which should slot in nicely into the current overworld-exploring setup of Wonderlands.

Chums, the elder god, has lost all sense of self and devolved into a rampaging beast after being trapped within a seawarg’s body for centuries. The only humane thing to do is put this mad god out of his misery, but one defeat won’t be enough: Chums has four powerful forms that will unlock over time, each one stronger than the last.”

“Chums” is such a Borderlands boss name.

It’s not just a matter of one-and-done-ing Chums, as the boss’ new forms won’t all be accessible at launch — there’s a weekly schedule. When Coiled Captors rolls out on April 21, you’ll be able to face his first form, then circle back on April 28, May 5, and May 12, respectively, to face the second, third, and fourth forms. If you die even once, it’s a wipe.

Spin the Wheel of Fate

High risk, (hopefully) high reward, right? Back at Dreamveil Overlook, there’s a Wheel of Fate to spin with various loot — weapons, gear pieces, and cosmetics — up for grabs in exchange for Lost Souls, a currency dropped by foes in the Mirrors of Mystery dungeons.

Tiny Tina's Wonderlands season pass roadmap
There are four DLC chapters in the Tiny Tina’s Wonderlands season pass roadmap.

To recap, Coiled Captors is up first on April 21, followed by Glutton’s Gamble, Molten Mirrors, and Shattering Spectreglass, which are coming at later dates. All four add-ons make up the Tiny Tina’s Wonderlands season pass, and that’s currently selling for $30.

This content starts at level 13 and scales up, so you don’t need to be endgame-ready — which is good for anyone rolling alternate characters. If you’re deep into the Chaos Chamber, though, completing Coiled Captors will add “five fresh level layouts and Chums himself to the list of chaotic variables.” I’ve heard grumbles about the Son of a Witch.

I have to say, even all fantasy’d up, Wonderlands is still Borderlands through and through, but I really like this game. It’s nice to not have to drive around for a change.

Jordan Devore
Jordan is a founding member of Destructoid and poster of seemingly random pictures. They are anything but random.