The World Video Game Hall of Fame has named its first six games


These would serve you well on an island

The Strong's World Video Game Hall of Fame has inducted its first six games, and you'll see no arguments here. Pong, Pac-Man, Tetris, Super Mario Bros., Doom, and World of Warcraft were chosen from a list of 15 finalists for 2015 that included recent hits like Minecraft and Angry Birds.

For added context, it's worth noting that The Strong National Museum of Play, which is based out of Rochester, New York, established the hall of fame this year. That's why these icons only now made the cut for "significantly affected the video game industry, popular culture, and society in general."

Nominations for the next batch of inductees will be accepted through March 31, 2016. Maybe you'll do better next year, Pokémon. You've got my vote.

You are logged out. Login | Sign up


Click to open photo gallery:


Jordan Devore
Jordan DevoreCo-EIC   gamer profile

Jordan is a founding member of Destructoid and poster of seemingly random pictures. They are anything but random. Disclosure: I backed Double Fine Adventure and Awesomenauts: Starstorm on Kickst... more + disclosures



Filed under... #History #Things gamers do



You're not expected to always agree, but do please keep cool and never make it personal. Report harassment, spam, and hate speech to our community team. Also, on the right side of a comment you can flag nasty comments anonymously (we ban users dishing bad karma). For everything else, contact us!