Rocksmith 2014 Remastered to release in 2016


Rocksmith Remastered...somehow

Ubisoft has announced that Rocksmith 2014 Edition - Remastered will be releasing on October 4, 2016. No, that isn't some weird typo; a game with 2014 in the title will be released in 2016.

While that certainly would be confusing for most people, Ubisoft has done nothing to really clarify the details. This "new" version will be available on PS4, Xbox One, and PC by way of a new (full priced!) retail release and a free update to existing users. It took me awhile to figure that out, seeing as how all the information was straightforward.

This "remastered" version will include six more songs over the original release. These songs are as follows:

  • "Three Little Birds" by Bob Marley & The Wailers
  • "Suspicious Minds" by Elvis Presley
  • "Some Nights" by Fun
  • "I Want You Back" by The Jackson 5
  • "Hey Ya!" by Outkast
  • "Drops of Jupiter" by Train

If you thought those bonus songs would also come free for older players, think again! Ubisoft may be changing up some features, but older users will be required to buy the new songs from the Rocksmith DLC store, which it insists has more than 800 songs.

Along with those bonus tracks are some expanded features. There are new menus, a dynamic difficulty system, greater stat tracking, and features to filter songs by tuning or other random criteria (like Dave Grohl). A greater breakdown can be seen on the official website.

I've had some experience with Rocksmith 2014, but all I can really say is avoid it if you're a bass player. The game refers to features that are exclusive to lead guitar and does little to offer any feedback on your skills. It also doesn't work well with passive guitars, which I happen to own (the Thunderbird IV is badass).

You are logged out. Login | Sign up



Peter Glagowski
Peter GlagowskiAssociate Editor   gamer profile

Plucked right from the DToid community (formerly KingSigy), Peter is an aspiring writer with a passion for gaming and fitness. If you can't find him in front of a game, you'll most likely find hi... more + disclosures



Also on Destructoid: Rocksmith 2014   (14)   From our database:

  • Rocksmith will turn you into a guitar legend like Hendrix or the guy from Papa Roach - Brett Makedonski
  • Rocksmith 2014 plays its encore on Xbox One and PS4 - Brett Makedonski
  • Rocksmith 2014 rated for PS4 and Xbox One - Brittany Vincent
  • Five R.E.M. songs added to Rocksmith 2014 as DLC - Harry Monogenis
  • Muse DLC comes to Rocksmith 2014 - Harry Monogenis
  • New Rocksmith 2014 DLC adds Radiohead tracks - Harry Monogenis
  • Iron Maiden gallops onto Rocksmith 2014 as DLC - Brett Makedonski
  • Ubisoft reveals even more songs for Rocksmith 2014 - Alasdair Duncan
  • More related stories
    Filed under... #DLC #PC #PS4 #Remaster #Ubisoft #Updates #Xbox One



    You're not expected to always agree, but do please keep cool and never make it personal. Report harassment, spam, and hate speech to our community team. Also, on the right side of a comment you can flag nasty comments anonymously (we ban users dishing bad karma). For everything else, contact us!