Gaming News, Game Reviews, Game Trailers, Tech News

dtoid   |   japanator   |   flixist   |   tomopop   |   store


 

 

Reviews in Review: Steins;Gate, Half Minute Hero 2, Trials Fusion

2014-04-19 15:00:00·  3 minute read   ·  Ben Pack@packbenpack
0

Review these Reviews in Review

"Reviews in Review" is a new show that releases every week where I will go over the reviews published this week on Destructoid, as well as give a score to the week in general. This week I talked about the reviews for Steins;Gate, Half Minute Hero 2, and Putty Squad. 

Otherwise, check out the recap of all the reviews that ran this past week on Destructoid below. Make sure to stay until the end of the video too for a DESTRUCTOID EXCLUSIVE interview.


You are logged out. Login | Sign up
 
 

Trials Fusion (PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360 [reviewed], Xbox One)
Developer: RedLynx, Ubisoft
Publisher: Ubisoft
Released: April 15, 2014 / April 24, 2014 (PC)
MSRP: $19.99 / $39.99 physical release with Season Pass (Xbox One, PS4)

Trials Fusion is a good game -- and I can only see it getting better over time as user-made levels excel and DLC is released -- but what's there now, at launch, is a step down from Trials Evolution. It's disheartening, then, to see the game come in at a higher price point than its predecessor and also try to sell users on a $19.99 Season Pass in-game right out of the gate.

Verdict: 8/10 - Read the full Trials Fusion review.

Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars (PS Vita, 3DS)
Developer: Spike Chunsoft
Publisher: Atlus
Released: April 15, 2014
Price: $39.99

As the game progresses, the ritual scenes become a bit longer and naughtier. Toward the end of the game, when you've maxxed out the bonds with the girls, the scenes of baby making become even more horny. You'll see hands against walls, rears out, with girls wincing. Again, nothing is happening as far as contact is concerned, but depending on your tastes, these scenes could be offensive. I've been around the block a few times and have seen way worse. For me, these scenes were more silly than anything.

Verdict: 7.5/10 - Read the full Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars review.

Steins;Gate (PC)
Developer: 5pb., Nitroplus 
Publisher: JAST USA
Released: March 31, 2014
MSRP: $29.99

And things will indeed get intense. Steins;Gate is a taxing game, but it's also quite beautiful, from the talented Japanese voice cast (no English dub, unfortunately) to artist huke's unorthodox visuals. It's an exemplary visual novel with a thrilling premise, memorable characters, and a fantastic "true" ending that may very well move you to tears.

Verdict: 8/10 - Read the full Steins;Gate review.

Putty Squad (3DS, PC, PS3, PS4 [reviewed], Xbox 360, Vita)
Developer: System 3 Software
Publisher: System 3 Software
Released: March 11, 2014
MSRP: $29.99

You should only pick up Putty Squad if you're a fan of the original, and have an unhealthy affinity towards platformers. Everyone else need not apply unless the game drops to a rightful price of $10 or less.

Verdict: 5/10 - Read the full Putty Squad review.


Half-Minute Hero: The Second Coming (PC)
Developer: Marvelous AQL
Publisher: Marvelous AQL
Release: April 4, 2014
MSRP: $19.99

Half-Minute Hero: The Second Coming makes a number of improvements on an established formula. It's endearing, provocative, and silly. But it lacks variety and never quite recaptures the magic of its predecessor. No longer a breath a fresh air, The Second Coming settles for being an enjoyable lark. And I'm perfectly okay with that.

Verdict: 8/10 - Read the full Half-Minute Hero: The Second Coming review.

 

TwitterRedditEmailFacebook
 
Ben PackContributor // Profile & Disclosures
Fronts34Following0Followers4

My name is Ben Pack. I write about eSports and competitive gaming and children who get paid millions to play video games. more


 



#3DS #3DS XL #Android #features #iPad #iPhone #Ouya #PC #PS3 #PS4 #Review Round Up #Top Stories #video #Vita #Xbox 360 #Xbox One
 
 


READER COMMENTS LOADING BELOW...

Please login (or) make a quick account (free)
to view and post comments.



 Login with Twitter

 Login with Dtoid

Three day old threads are only visible to verified humans - this helps our small community management team stay on top of spam

Sorry for the extra step!

spacer