Friday Night Fights: Viva la Vita

The PlayStation Vita has finally landed in the hands of our esteemed editors and the verdict is unanimous: this thing’s a goddamn beast! Granted, as with all new devices, there are a few nagging issues, but overall the consensus has been that the Vita is a gorgeous, hardcore handheld with a very bright future. Hooray for gamers!

Of course, most of you probably won’t have a chance to buy yours until next week, but that didn’t stop Metal Mark from getting the jump on things and hosting Dtoid’s first Vita FNF! So hit the jump now to see what he (and everyone else!) is playing!

New to FNF? Read this! Each week, a bunch of us Dtoiders get together to play videogames online! It’s a 100% community-run event, so feel free to join in or even host something yourself!

The planning for FNF starts in the forums, where community members volunteer to host matches and post their pertinent details (game, time, Gamertag, etc.). Then, every Friday, reminder posts go up in the community blogs followed by a recap post here on the front page for last-minute planning.

To join in, simply send a friend request to the match host! (Don’t forget to say you’re from Dtoid!) If you’d rather host something yourself, sound off in the comments section below!

We hope to see you online!

EU FNF

Tonight’s Games:

  • Mass Effect 3 Multiplayer Demo
    Platform: Xbox 360
    Host: Tarvu (GT: The Kinky Ninja)
    Time: 20:00 GMT (3 PM EST)
  • Fighting Games!
    Platform: Xbox 360
    Host: Death by Lumber (GT: AngelEchoes)
    Time: 21:00 GMT (4 PM EST)
  • Mass Effect 3 Multiplayer Demo
    Platform: PC
    Host: Tarvu (Origin: Tarvu)
    Time: 23:00 GMT (6 PM EST)
  • Hit up Steamtoid to see if there’s anything else going on!

360 FNF

Tonight’s Games:

  • Gotham City Impostors
    Host: StriderHoang (GT: StriderHoang)
    Time: 8 PM EST
  • Halo: Reach (Speed Halo, Hot Pursuit, other custom games)
    Host: Eric Woll (GT: FLaN Tamarind)
    Time: 8 PM EST
  • Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition
    Host: Char Aznable (GT: ShinigamiBV)
    Time: 9 PM EST
  • Beat ‘Em Ups! (The Simpsons Arcade, Castle Crashers, X-Men Arcade, TMNT 1989, etc.)
    Host: Char Aznable (GT: ShinigamiBV)
    Time: 11 PM EST
  • Gears of War 3
    Host: Usedtabe (GT: Us3d ta b3)
    Time: 11 PM EST
  • Gotham City Impostors
    Host: StriderHoang (GT: StriderHoang)
    Time: 1 AM EST

Check out the 360 FNF blog for more details!

PS3 FNF

Tonight’s Games:

  • Twisted Metal
    Host: garethxxgod (PSN: garethxxgod)
    Time: 7:30 PM EST
  • Battlefield 3
    Host: Trev (PSN: ElZilcho)
    Time: 9 PM EST
  • Starhawk Beta
    Host: Dare (PSN: Knackered)
    Time: 9 PM EST
    Game name: Dtoid
  • Payday: The Heist
    Host: CornflakeJustice (PSN: cornflakejustice)
    Time: 11:30 PM EST

Check out the PS3 FNF blog for more details!

PS Vita FNF

Tonight’s Games:

  • Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
    Host: Mark Mann (PSN: The_Trooper_669)
    Time: 10 PM EST

Check out the PS3 FNF blog for more details!

3DS FNF

Tonight’s Games:

  • Resident Evil: Revelations (Raid Mode)
    Host: Wolfy-Boey (5327-1072-2012)
    Time: 8 PM EST
  • Mario Kart 7
    Host: Wolfy-Boey (5327-1072-2012)
    Community: Destructoid (43-8816-8269-4512)
    Time: 9 PM EST
  • Mario Kart 7 (Balloon Battles)
    Host: smurfee mcgee (5284-1410-9454)
    Community: Dtoid Ballooning (54-2583-2568-7417)
    Time: 10:30 PM EST

Check out the 3DS FNF forum thread for more details!

PC FNF

Tonight’s Games:

  • League of Legends
    Host: Shemlock Helmes
    Time: 10 PM EST
  • Hit up Steamtoid to see if there’s anything else going on!
M Randy