Friday Night Fights: GDC edition

GDC.

As such, this is the quickest and most thrown-together Friday Nights Fights post I’ve done yet! We hope you have been enjoying the news and video features that have come out of GDC. Personally, I’m very excited for the new Super Mario game on the 3DS. I’m a Nintendo fanboy by trade, so any first party Nintendo offering gets me all excited.

Our partnership with Machinima has also brought about great video features, with our own Hamza Aziz and Tara Long helping co-host Inside Gaming, and Adam Kovic co-hosting the Destructoid show. Yay to one big happy family!

Well, while I continue to nurse my fatigue (read: hangover), the Destructoid community hasn’t missed a beat and have lots of games planned for this week’s Friday Night Fights! Read below for a list of community hosts and the games they will be playing!

New to FNF? Read this: Each week, a bunch of Destructoid readers and usually an editor or two get together to play some videogames online. Basically, this is what Friday Night Fights are all about.

The planning for FNF takes place in the forums, where community members volunteer to host by posting their information (gamertag, time to meet up, game, etc.) in the forum post corresponding to the system they’re interested in playing on.

Then, every Friday, reminder posts for those who don’t read the forums regularly go up in the community blogs section all thanks to a dedicated group of cool individuals. And for everyone who wants their info all in one place, they have got my weekly recap posts to look forward to between 4:30 – 5:30 PM EST.

Now that you’re here, just scan the list below and find a game you want to play. All that’s left to do after that is to join the match by contacting the host below using any means necessary. For Wii, you might have to be a little creative, but for 360/PS3 a simple “invite me” message will be fine.

The names on the left are our Destructoid handles, while the ones on the right are our online handles (PSN IDs, for example). Don’t see a game you want to play? Feel free to post a comment offering to take up hosting duties yourself.

EU FNF

Tonight’s Hosts:(more info from Tarvu)

  • Platform: PC/Mac, Steam
    Game: Whatever you can get people to play. Steamtoid is a fun hangout
    People: Join the Steam group to find us!
    Time: Anytime. All of the time.
  • Platform: Wii
    Game: Tatsunoko vs Capcom
    People: Subenu (Friend code: 5285-2857-6193) 

    Time: 20.00 CEST | 19.00 GMT | 14.00 EST
  • Platform: Xbox 360
    Game: Marvel vs. Capcom 3
    People: Subenu (GT: Neo Subenu), Scroll (GT: Doctor Scroll)
    Time: 21.00 CEST | 20.00 GMT | 15.00 EST
  • Platform: Xbox 360
    Game: Halo: Reach, BF1943, Rapelay 2, ODST. Basically, TBA.
    People: Tarvu (The Kinky Ninja), The Guy with the Hat (GT: Mighty Hatman), Ramalho (GT: RamalhoM)
    Time: 21.00 CEST | 20.00 GMT | 15.00 EST
  • Platform: Xbox 360
    Game: Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood
    People: Death by Lumber (AngelEchoes), panchromatic (GT: panchromatic)
    Time: 21.00 CEST | 20.00 GMT | 15.00 EST
  • Platform: Playstation 3
    Game: Forever Alone and sleepless
    People: Juani-arg
    Time: 21.00 CEST | 20.00 GMT | 15.00 EST
  • Platform: Playstation 3
    Game: Killzone 3
    People: Sexual Chocolate (PSN: FoolishBean69)
    Time: 21.00 CEST | 20.00 GMT | 15.00 EST

FNF 360

Tonight’s Hosts (more info from SephirothX):

  • Game: Left 4 Dead 2
    Host: Blasto (GT: Blastopotamus)
    Time: 8:00PM EST
  • Game: Monday Night Combat
    Host: Epic-KxDtoid and ScottyG (GT: firespin97 and scottygrayskull)
    Time: 8:00PM EST
  • Game: Marvel vs Capcom 3
    Host: FalconReaper (GT: InvincibleKiil)
    Time: 9:00PM EST
  • Game: Gears of War 2
    Host:  VGFreak1225 (GT: VGFreak1225)
    Time: 9:00PM EST
  • Game: Crysis 2 Multiplayer Demo
    Host: Guncannon (GT: GuncannonD)
    Time: 10:00PM EST
  • Game: Bulletstorm
    Host: mrandydixon (GT: Mr Andy Dixon)
    Time: 12:00AM EST

FNF PS3

Tonight’s Hosts (more info from Trev):

  • Game: Super Street Fighter IV
    Host: Daxelman (PSN: Daxelman)
    Time: 8:00PM EST
  • Game: Killzone 3
    Host: Lenigod (PSN:lenigod)
    Time: 9:00PM EST
  • Game: Marvel vs Capcom 3
    Host: Nyktharas (PSN:Nyktharas)
    Time: 10:00PM EST
  • Game: Demon’s Souls
    Host: Trev (PSN: ElZilcho) – See my PSN comment for character levels and use this to see if we can join up 
    Time: Whenever EST

Wii FnF

Tonight’s Hosts:

  • Game: Goldeneye 007
    Host: Smurfee mcgee (Friend code: 4206-2479-1494-2053), Goldeneye code (417728332187)
    Time: 10:00PM EST
    Feel free to PM friend codes to Smurfee ahead of time!

PC FNF       
If you want to find people to play with, check out the Steam chat below:

The Steam group

Jesse Cortez