dark        

Command & Conquer 4 DRM: Lose Internet, lose all progress

0

Seems Electronic Arts has not only joined Ubisoft by forcing gamers to stay online while playing Command & Conquer 4, it's gone one step worse. The folks at PC Gamer have tinkered around with the game's DRM to find out just how insidious it is, and things look grim. Turns out that if you lose your connection for even a moment, you can kiss your game progress goodbye. 

When the connection drops, players will be allowed to continue their game, but they won't be able to save anything. Once the connection comes back online, players will be booted to the main menu, having lost everything since their last save. Apparently, you can quickly save and quit out the very second your connection drops, but you'll have to be on the ball to do it. 

This is what supporting a publisher with your money gets you. I'm so glad EA considers its PC customers as less than pond scum. 

Here's exactly what happens if you're disconnected while playing C&C4 [PC Gamer]

You are logged out. Login | Sign up

 
 

 

TwitterRedditEmailFacebook
 
Jim Sterling
Jim SterlingThank God   gamer profile


 


 



Filed under... #DRM #Electronic Arts #PC #Utterly pathetic

READER COMMENTS LOADING BELOW...


LET'S KEEP THE COMMUNITY GREAT


You're not expected to always agree, but do please keep cool and never make it personal. Report harassment, spam, and hate speech to our community team. Also, on the right side of a comment you can flag nasty comments anonymously (we ban users dishing bad karma). For everything else, contact us!