dark        

Classic Tetris World Championships to air Sunday

0

Boom Tetris for Anthony!

I've always loved watching Tetris matches because Tetris is one of the only games I can arguably defend as perfect. So, when you have an arguably perfect game, it's always amazing to see the best players in the world put their skills to the test.

Thankfully the Classic Tetris World Championships scratch that itch for me every year and after almost a full day of qualifying rounds on Saturday, 32 players have emerged from the scrum to test their might at becoming Tetris world champion.

The qualifying rounds had a bit of spectacle to them with Koryan maxing out his qualifying score, a feat that only Harry Hong has done since the competition switched to its current format. It is not surprising to see that the top five finishers from last year's competition have all qualified, but there are some new faces among the crowd. The full qualifying leaderboard, as well as tournament bracket, can be found below.

Taking place at the Retro Gaming Convention in Portland, Oregon, the CTWC will start today at 17:00 GMT/13:00 EDT/10:00 PDT. The top eight is expected to begin at 20:00 GMT/16:00 EDT/13:00 PDT. The entire competition will be streamed on Twitch, with sure to be memorable commentary included.

Watch live video from ClassicTetris on www.twitch.tv

 

You are logged out. Login | Sign up

 
 

 

TwitterRedditEmailFacebook
 
Anthony Marzano
Anthony MarzanoContributor   gamer profile

Cblog recapper, writer for Flixist and Lover of all things strategic and can you find me on the internet? Twitch: more + disclosures


 


 



Filed under... #Competitive Multiplayer #eSports #Nintendo #Nintendo Entertainment System #retro #tetris #twitch

READER COMMENTS LOADING BELOW...


LET'S KEEP THE COMMUNITY GREAT


You're not expected to always agree, but do please keep cool and never make it personal. Report harassment, spam, and hate speech to our community team. Also, on the right side of a comment you can flag nasty comments anonymously (we ban users dishing bad karma). For everything else, contact us!