Note: iOS 9 + Facebook users w/ trouble scrolling: #super sorry# we hope to fix it asap. In the meantime Chrome Mobile is a reach around
hot  /  reviews  /  videos  /  cblogs  /  qposts

Reviews In Review: Watch Dogs, Monochroma, Wolf Among Us

4:00 PM on 06.01.2014 // Ben Pack
  @packbenpack

Plus World End Economica

Reviewer? I hardly know her! This week's reviews in review goes out to Steven Hansen. Check out the video and all the reviews below.

World End Economica Episode 1 (PC)
Developer: Spicy Tails
Publisher: Sekai Project
Release: May 5, 2014
MRSP: $12.99

World End Economica has so much going for it: an interesting premise, a protagonist with an actual design and personality (even if it is a little rotten) and the opportunity to capitalize on a business rarely (if ever) explored in video games: stock trading. Unfortunately, it squanders the opportunity to capitalize on these great bullet points and winds up a generic, muddled mess of pacing issues, bland dialogue, and characters too difficult to connect with.

Verdict: 4/10 - Read the full World End Economica Episode 1 review 

Watch Dogs (PC, PS3, PS4, Wii U, Xbox 360, Xbox One [reviewed])
Developer: Ubisoft Montreal
Publisher: Ubisoft
Release: May 27, 2014 / TBA 2014 (Wii U)
MRSP: $59.99

Despite the fact that Watch Dogs hasn't made any meaningful impact on the genre, I found myself having a ton of fun with it. Between the deep levels of customization and the sheer breadth of content, there's no shortage of things to do. If Ubisoft can take the game's core fun factor and marry it with an actual "next-gen" experience the next time around, they'll have something truly special.

Verdict: 8/10 - Read the full Watch Dogs review

The Wolf Among Us: In Sheep's Clothing (iOS, Mac, PC [reviewed], PlayStation 3, Xbox 360)
Developer: Telltale Games
Publisher: Telltale Games
Release: May 27, 2014 (PC, PS3, Xbox 360) / TBA (iOS)
MSRP: $4.99 (Each Episode)

Having said that, Wolf Among Us continues to wow me with all of the details therein. From the Little Old Lady who lived in a shoe in a random painting to Curds and Whey in a jar, there's lots of lore building, and all it makes me want to do is read the comics proper. While The Walking Dead always feels like more of a micro-tale with each individual group, Wolf Among Us feels like something greater, and bigger than Telltale -- and that's a good thing.

Verdict: 7.5/10 - Read the full The Wolf Among Us: In Sheep's Clothing review

Monochroma (Linux, Mac, PC [reviewed])
Developer: Nowhere Studios
Publisher: Nowhere Studios
Released: May 28, 2014
MSRP: $19.99
Rig: AMD Phenom II X2 555 @ 3.2 GHz, with 4GB of RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5700, Windows 7 64-bit

The narrative itself is generally engaging overall, but it suffers from a few holes. Aside from being told that the little brother is in fact the protagonist's little brother, the player is given no intrinsic reason to want to help him, and in fact, the player can grow to resent the character. Otherwise, there is not a good reason given that the two brothers decide to walk to the city and infiltrate a corporation instead of staying home and calling for medical help.

Verdict: 4/10 - Read the full Monochroma review

Worms Battlegrounds (PS4, Xbox One [reviewed])
Developer: Team17
Publisher: Team17
Released: May 27, 2014
MSRP: $24.99

Like most Worms games, you'll need other people to play with or risk monotony. Enemy AI still isn't the sharpest tool in the shed even this far in the game, and they can take far too long between turns, leading to boredom. Given the price tag of $25, it's perfect for those of you who haven't played a Worms game in years and have the itch. But if you've been playing along for the past few years, you might be able to skip this slightly upgraded collective of recent entries -- unless you're a fanatic, of course.

Verdict: 7.5/10 - Read the full Worms Battlegrounds review

 



Ben Pack, Contributor
 Follow Blog + disclosure packbenpack Tips
My name is Ben Pack. I write about eSports and competitive gaming and children who get paid millions to play video games. more   |   staff directory





 Setup email comments

Unsavory comments? Please report harassment, spam, and hate speech to our community fisters, and flag the user (we will ban users dishing bad karma). Can't see comments? Apps like Avast or browser extensions can cause it. You can fix it by adding *.disqus.com to your whitelists.

 Quickposts
Status updates from C-bloggers

CoilWhine avatarCoilWhine
I'm writing my next cBlog, another Sonic Generations Mod Retrospective. I played all of these early last week, but there are some cool ones I'd like to share
ShadeOfLight avatarShadeOfLight
My favorite Pokemon should be painfully obvious, so here's some love for my honorable #2. Suck it, Garchomp.
ChillyBilly avatarChillyBilly
The best game -
Serethyn avatarSerethyn
The Banner Saga is pretty much a work of art. It's so incredibly pretty. I wonder why there aren't more games that use such a striking art style? The only other game with a similar-ish art style that comes to my mind is Cuphead.
BigDoniel avatarBigDoniel
The best Pokémon is, and always has been, Blastoise.
ChrisHannard avatarChrisHannard
Gotta eat 'em all..
ikiryou avatarikiryou
Why is there so much love for Pokemon, when only Digimon can you offer you the One True Waifumon?
BigDoniel avatarBigDoniel
Why is steam having yet another sale? At this point they'd be better just reducing the prices of the games year-round, instead of having the same games at the same discounted prices every 2 months.
ChillyBilly avatarChillyBilly
Trubbish is the best Pokemon because he's basically a pile of trash.
KeithTheGeek avatarKeithTheGeek
Woke up to find the qposts filled with favorite pokemon. I'm gonna be that guy and say his favorite is Charizard. Too lazy to go dig up a picture, but I don't have to. Yall already know what he looks like.
Shinta avatarShinta
CONTROVERSY: I'm playing Ninja Gaiden Black right now and the truth of the matter is that Ninja Gaiden 2 is the better game. The combat is just so much better, and the pacing is as well. NGB is still a 10/10 to me though. NGB's combat is just alot slower
Sir Shenanigans avatarSir Shenanigans
Since I was a lad who actually followed Pokemon, Scyther was green and sharp and cut his way to my little heart, where he remains today.
JohnSmith123 avatarJohnSmith123
Hmm. I unlocked something called Balam. I wonder what that i-oh. OHHHHH.
Jinx 01 avatarJinx 01
Always respect your waifu. And never have more than one, polyamory is bad mkay
EdgyDude avatarEdgyDude
Just realized Deadpool releases this week and started praying it doesn't suck.
Solar Pony Django avatarSolar Pony Django
You guys probably already know this but Feraligatr is my favorite Pokemon.
JPF720 avatarJPF720
Proudly stand as (possibly) the only person whose favorite Pokémon is this guy
Scrustle avatarScrustle
Haven't cared about Pokemon in about 10 years, but I used to like this guy.
Oridan avatarOridan
Hello, here is a pokémon that I like.
Jed Whitaker avatarJed Whitaker
And another one. And another one. And another one. You smart.
more quickposts


Contest!


Seriously

Invert site colors

  Dark Theme
  Light Theme


Destructoid means family.
Living the dream, since 2006

Pssst. konami code + enter

modernmethod logo



Back to Top


We follow moms on   Facebook  and   Twitter
  Light Theme      Dark Theme
Pssst. Konami Code + Enter!
You may remix stuff our site under creative commons w/@
- Destructoid means family. Living the dream, since 2006 -