Game database:   #ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ         ALL     Xbox One     PS4     360     PS3     WiiU     Wii     PC     3DS     DS     PS Vita     PSP     iOS     Android



Reviews in Review: Sportsfriends, Amazing Spider-Man 2 photo
Reviews in Review: Sportsfriends, Amazing Spider-Man 2

4:00 PM on 05.12.2014

Plus Tesla Effect, Raiden IV: Overkill


Hey some dude in the comments said I should do this drunk so Max made me drink malt liquor. Anyway here are the reviews I reviewed last week (as well as a couple more that went up after the video).

Bound By Flame (PC [reviewed], PS3, PS4, Xbox 360)
Developer: Spiders
Publisher: Focus Home Interactive
Release Date: May 9, 2014
MSRP: $39.99

The game is actually on your side when it comes to whipping your character into shape, too, as if to compensate for dim AI and the repetitive grind that some may not find as rewarding as I did. There's plenty of loot scattered throughout the multiple winding passageways and easy-to-navigate dungeons, giving you numerous chances to craft new potions and other necessary items for use in battle. While gold isn't exactly in short supply, you'll still be faced with enough opportunities to make your own fortune rather than looking for your next payday.

Verdict: 7/10 - Read the full Bound By Flame review

Hitman GO (iOS)
Developer: Square Enix
Publisher: Square Enix
Released: April 17, 2014
MSRP: $4.99

Still, I was more than enamored with the numerous nods to classic Hitmanmoments, additional costumes, and the amount of polish lavished upon this bizarre yet savory addition to the Hitman universe. It's not perfect, and it certainly won't appeal to everyone, but if you're jonesing for your next taste of the life of an assassin, Hitman GO is the hippest way to emulate everyone's favorite sharp-dressed agent. 

Verdict: 8/10 - Read the full Hitman GO review

Republique: Metamorphosis (iOS [reviewed on an iPhone 5], Mac, PC)
Developer: Camouflaj, Logan
Publisher: Camouflaj
Released: April 30, 2014 (iOS) / PC (TBA)
MSRP: $4.99 (Each Episode)

I had my doubts about the Republique project as a whole, but it's clear to me now after two episodes that Camouflaj "gets it." The studio is finding a way to improve upon the core tenets of the game while maintaining an episodic format, which many other developers don't tend to do. While I wouldn't recommend that everyone rush out and buy the Season Pass right now, I'm looking forward to seeing what the next episode brings to the table.

Verdict: 7.5/10 - Read the full Republique: Metamorphosis review


Sportsfriends (PC, PS3, PS4 [reviewed])
Developer: Die Gute Fabrik
Publisher: Die Gute Fabrik
Release Date: May 6, 2014
MSRP: $14.99

Despite the fact that I don't think I'll be playing Barabariball or Super Pole Riders for very long, Hokra's level editor gives it legs, and Johann Sebastian Joust shouldn't be missed by anyone who enjoys having company over. It's a very uneven package in the sense that there could have either been a few more games and a few could have been better, but honestly -- $15 isn't a terrible price just for Joust alone.

Verdict: 7/10 - Read the full Sportsfriends review

Raiden IV: OverKill (PS3)
Developer: MOSS
Publisher: UFO Interactive Game
Released: April 29, 2014
MSRP: $19.99

Raiden IV: OverKill could have used a few more extras, but the fact that you can get it cheaper than the Xbox 360 version when it launched (it's $20 now digitally as well) is a compelling reason for genre fans to pick this one up. While theRaiden series in general isn't my favorite collective of shmups, it's been a steady staple for over two decades for a reason.

Verdict: 7.5/10 - Read the full Raiden IV: OverKill review

The Elder Scrolls Online (Mac, PC [reviewed], PlayStation 4, Xbox One)
Developer: ZeniMax Online Studios
Publisher: Bethesda Softworks
Release: April 4, 2014 (Mac, PC) / June 2014 (PlayStation 4, Xbox One)
MSRP: $59.99 ($14.99 subscription fee, with 30 days included in base game)

I think right now, the most prudent thing to do is to wait for ZeniMax to iron out all of The Elder Scrolls Online's kinks (including how it handles post level 50 content to make it less grindy), and play the console version of the game. Not only will it arrive with all of the updates from the PC version in tow, but it'll also have full native controller support -- which feels more natural than a mouse and keyboard in this instance.

Verdict: 6.5/10 - Read the full The Elder Scrolls Online review


Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure (PC [reviewed], Mac)
Developer: Big Finish Games
Publisher: Atlus
Released: May 7, 2014
MRSP: $19.99 / £14.99

The humor doesn't always work and the puzzle design is still rooted in the series' 1990s adventure game roots, meaning it feels archaic in spots, but there are some welcome concessions to modern design with the flashlight and hint system. Tex Murphy might be alive in 2014 but he'll need to learn a few more tricks if he's to stay around for another adventure. 

Verdict: 6.5/10 - Read the full Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure review

 






Comments not appearing? Anti-virus apps like Avast or some browser extensions can cause this.
Easy fix: Add   [*].disqus.com   to your software's white list. Tada! Happy comments time again.

Did you know? You can now get daily or weekly email notifications when humans reply to your comments.






3DS

10:00 PM on 03.26.2015
Rodea: The Sky Soldier looks great on the 3DS

Rodea: The Sky Soldier looks beautiful on the Wii U and this new Japanese trailer proves the 3DS version isn't to be scoffed at. This aerial combat game has been in development for around five years at Prope, the studio...more



5:08 PM on 03.26.2015
Super Mario series Mario amiibo releasing stand-alone April 3

The second Mario amiibo (after the original Smash Bros. line) is no longer available only through its Mario Party 10 bundle. Nintendo of America confirmed that you can buy the doll on its own on April 3. Nintendo of Canada confirmed the date as well. more



11:30 AM on 03.26.2015
Nintendo Download: Dot Arcade

There isn't a whole lot coming to Nintendo systems today, but Dot Arcade definitely highlights the week with its interesting minimalist style. You'll also find Namco Museum on the Virtual Console in addition to a de...more



View all 3DS






Back to Top




All content is yours to recycle through our Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing requiring attribution. Our communities are obsessed with videoGames, movies, anime, and toys.

Living the dream since March 16, 2006

Advertising on destructoid is available: Please contact them to learn more