Quantcast
Reviews in Review: Mario Kart 8, Super Time Force and more! - Destructoid




Game database:   #ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ         ALL     Xbox One     PS4     360     PS3     WiiU     Wii     PC     3DS     DS     PS Vita     PSP     iOS     Android



Reviews in Review: Mario Kart 8, Super Time Force and more! photo
Reviews in Review: Mario Kart 8, Super Time Force and more!

4:00 PM on 05.17.2014

Plus The Walking Dead, JoJo's Bizarre Adventure


Hey, what are you doing here! There's a ton of good games that came out this week! No wait, come back and watch this video for a couple of minutes, read the article, then you can go play those games.

Mario Kart 8 (Wii U)
Developer: Nintendo EAD Group No. 1
Publisher: Nintendo
Release Date: May 30, 2014
MSRP: $59.99

Mario Kart 8 is my favorite series entry since Double Dash, and if it gets arena battle tracks at some point by way of DLC, it will be a near-perfect package. Its vibrant visuals will hold up for years to come, ensuring that the game will withstand the test of time, and it will be a staple in my household for a long, long while.

Verdict: 9/10 - Read the full Mario Kart 8 review

Ether One (PC)
Developer: White Paper Games
Publisher: White Paper Games
Released: March 25, 2014
MRSP: $19.99

Ether One nails its puzzles, atmosphere, and sound (ambient and voice acting). It also nails its story -- whether or not you decide to fully unravel its world and its mysteries -- culminating in a, well, refreshing, smart finale that will stay on my mind for years to come.

Verdict: 9/10 - Read the full Ether One review

The Walking Dead Season Two: In Harm's Way (iPad, iPhone, Mac, PC [reviewed], PlayStation 3, PlayStation Vita, Xbox 360)
Developer: Telltale Games
Publisher: Telltale Games
Release: May 14, 2014 (PC, PS3) / TBA (iOS, Vita, Xbox 360)
MSRP: $4.99 (Each Episode)

Episode three was probably my favorite from season one of The Walking Dead -- so far, I'm feeling the same way about In Harm's Way. Based on the preview the next tale seems to be a buffer of sorts before an explosive end, and I'm really looking forward to seeing how Clementine's journey ends. You hooked me yet again, Telltale.

Verdict: 8.5/10 - Read the full The Walking Dead Season Two: In Harm's Way review

Super Time Force (Xbox 360 [reviewed], Xbox One)
Developer: Capybara Games
Publisher: Capybara Games
Release date: May 14, 2014
MSRP: $14.99

All told, Super Time Force is a satisfying run-and-gun game made even better with a fun (and funny!) take on time travel. It's as enjoyable to play as it is to look at. You'll likely be able to burn through the game in a few hours if you're not going for full completion, but it has such a winning personality that you'll find yourself coming back for more.

Verdict: 9/10 - Read the full Super Time Force  review

Demon Gaze (PS Vita)
Developer: Kadokawa Games
Publisher: NIS America 
Released: April, 2014
MRSP: $39.99

You'll have to have plenty of patience and a pretty good imagination to get the most out of Demon Gaze. The dungeon crawling is great and the NPC interactions outside of the dungeons are fun, but it's insanely challenging (even on the easiest setting) and the high level of repetition and mostly static presentation could get to you after some time. And you'll also have to be okay with the game's many horny NPC situations as they didn't skimp on the fan service.

Verdict: 7/10 - Read the full Demon Gaze  review

Cloudbuilt (PC)
Developer: Coilworks
Publisher: Rising Star Games
Released: March 20, 2014
MRSP: $19.99

Cloudbuilt is frustrating. It's frustrating to play and frustrating to recommend. I like the style, I like the parkour mechanics overall, but there's a lot of junk to contend with. The antagonistic design (minefields everywhere) is one thing, but the unforgiving checkpoints and limited lives lead to a lot of repetition. Meanwhile, the combat ends up about as unsatisfying as Mirror's Edge, with worse enemies that either absorb too many bullets or deflect them with shields anyway. If you want something that is going to fight you every step of the way as you shave seconds off of run times (and you have a strong pinky finger), this is for you.

Verdict: 6/10 - Read the full Cloudbuilt  review

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: All-Star Battle (PS3)
Developer: CyberConnect2
Publisher: Bandai Namco Games
Release Date: April 29, 2014
MSRP: $49.99

Overall, despite its shortcomings, Jojo's Bizarre Adventure: All-Star Battle is a colorful spectacle that both fans of the anime and future fans of the anime will want to pick up and experience, even if just to watch a man use only his upper body strength after hopping off his horse to hold his own in combat. It's funky, gorgeous, and oozing with style. And where it comes up short, it simultaneously delivers in terms of fanservice and content. You won't be putting it down for quite some time, unless, you know, you need some time to eat a few more breads in your life.

Verdict: 7.5/10 - Read the full JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: All-Star Battle review






Comments not appearing? Anti-virus apps like Avast or some browser extensions can cause this.
Easy fix: Add   [*].disqus.com   to your software's white list. Tada! Happy comments time again.

Did you know? You can now get daily or weekly email notifications when humans reply to your comments.







3DS

10:30 AM on 10.21.2014
Shantae and the Pirate's Curse launches this week on 3DS

Shantae and the Pirate's Curse hits Nintendo 3DS this week. As the third game in the series, the story follows Shantae as she loses her genie powers and learns to fight as a pirate. It'll have the same classic Metroidva...more



5:00 PM on 10.20.2014
Pokémon Puzzle Challenge coming to 3DS next month

I love Pokémon Puzzle Challenge.  I am glad that it is coming to the 3DS Virtual Console. I think I will pay $5 for it despite still having a cartridge. I probably won't bother with the code for the Special Demo Version of Ruby and Sapphire it comes with, but that's fine. It is a lovely little game. I think I will go play it right now. more



4:30 PM on 10.20.2014
Catch Mega Pokemon early in the Alpha Sapphire Special Demo

Pokemon Alpha Sapphire and Omega Ruby will let you get a head start on your adventures with a Special Demo Version. Details on how to get it are here. You may want to. It lets you transfer items as well as Pokemon, ...more



View all 3DS






Back to Top




All content is yours to recycle through our Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing requiring attribution. Our communities are obsessed with videoGames, movies, anime, and toys.

Living the dream since March 16, 2006

Advertising on destructoid is available: Please contact them to learn more