*Reviews in Review: FFXIV, Arkham Origins DLC & NES Remix 2
[ x ] remove ads and scale site to 1080p+
[ x ] remove the ads & get mobile premium
pay whatever you want to upgrade
 
 

Reviews in Review: FFXIV, Arkham Origins DLC & NES Remix 2

4:00 PM on 04.26.2014·  3 minute read   ·  Ben Pack@packbenpack
0

Review these Reviews in Review

Reviews in Review is back, and due to the fact that this is episode 2, it officially has lasted longer than that time Fox tried to bring back The Osbournes after it got cancelled. 

Anyway, onto the reviews. This week I talked about Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, Batman: Arkham Origins: Cold, Cold Hearts, NES Remix 2, and Disney Magical World. Check 'em out.

 

Batman: Arkham Origins: Cold, Cold Heart (PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 [reviewed])
Developer: Warner Bros. Games Montréal / Splash Damage
Publisher: Warner Bros.
Released: April 22nd, 2014
MSRP: $9.99 (part of the Season Pass)

Cold, Cold Heart feels like a legitimate addition to the Arkham Origins lore, and not just a cheap cash-in. It's definitely a side story that's too big to be shoved into the core game, even if it doesn't really innovate in any meaningful way. While I wouldn't go out of my way to buy Arkham Origins just for it, I'd implore any current owner to take a look.

Verdict: 7.5/10 - Read the full Batman: Arkham Origins: Cold, Cold Heart review

NES Remix 2 (Wii U)
Developer: indieszero
Publisher: Nintendo
Released: April 24, 2014
MSRP: $14.99

This is something that I'm going to be playing for quite some time with friends every so often, comparing scores until the cows come home. I wish this mode was a bit more fleshed out overall though (two Mario games is a bit much), and I'd love to see it as a standard in future iterations of this franchise (SNES Remix, perhaps?). In other words, I wouldn't buy it just to play Championship mode, but it's enjoyable all the same.

Verdict: 8/10 - Read the full NES Remix 2 review.

Disney Magical World (3DS)
Developer: h.a.n.d.
Publisher: Nintendo
Released: April 11, 2014
MSRP: $29.99

That's the theme of Magical World -- simplicity. There are no secret times you need to get to a club to hear a certain song, no special residents that will only grant you a rare item on a certain hour of a certain day (there is a clock, but its effects are mostly aesthetic). For those of you who like min/maxing turnip prices and the like, you won't scratch that same itch here. It's not like that's a bad thing in my book -- I think an increased amount of accessibility is great -- just be wary that it can affect the game's longevity.

Verdict: 7/10 - Read the full Disney Magical World review

Mario Golf: World Tour (3DS)
Developer: Camelot
Publisher: Nintendo
Release Date: May 2, 2014
MSRP: $29.99

Mario Golf: World Tour's presentation is strong, especially when it comes to the varied characters and costumes. The course designs are colorful and exciting, and they're packed with little secrets to find. The low resolution of the shot grid is the only place where the presentation of World Tour lets you down.

Verdict: 8/10 - Read the full Mario Golf: World Tour review  

 

Enlighten an uninformed cougar: FacebookTwitterRedditEmail
 

#3DS #3DS XL #Android #features #iPad #iPhone #Ouya #PC #PS3 #PS4 #Review Round Up #Top Stories #video #Vita #Xbox 360 #Xbox One
 
 
 
[x] advertisement
 
 


Ben PackContributor // Profile & Disclosures
Fronts34Following0Followers3

My name is Ben Pack. I write about eSports and competitive gaming and children who get paid millions to play video games. more
Trending on Destructoid:

 
 


Join the robot army! We're a family-owned site, updating multiple times a day (since 2006!) thanks to our Huge Members

BigPrimeNumbers
BigPrimeNumbers


Since 1:10 PM on 02.06.2014

JesseBaule
JesseBaule


Since 12:29 PM on 10.30.2014

djnealb
djnealb


Since 12:51 PM on 08.19.2009

User Avatar
leoryk


Since 12:47 AM on 06.11.2015

 

Please login (or) make a quick account (free)
to view and post comments.





Three day old threads are only visible to verified humans - this helps our small community management team stay on top of spam

Sorry for the extra step!