Game database:   #ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ         ALL     Xbox One     PS4     360     PS3     WiiU     Wii     PC     3DS     DS     PS Vita     PSP     iOS     Android



Reviews in Review: FFXIV, Arkham Origins DLC & NES Remix 2 photo
Reviews in Review: FFXIV, Arkham Origins DLC & NES Remix 2

4:00 PM on 04.26.2014

Review these Reviews in Review


Reviews in Review is back, and due to the fact that this is episode 2, it officially has lasted longer than that time Fox tried to bring back The Osbournes after it got cancelled. 

Anyway, onto the reviews. This week I talked about Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, Batman: Arkham Origins: Cold, Cold Hearts, NES Remix 2, and Disney Magical World. Check 'em out.

Batman: Arkham Origins: Cold, Cold Heart (PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 [reviewed])
Developer: Warner Bros. Games Montréal / Splash Damage
Publisher: Warner Bros.
Released: April 22nd, 2014
MSRP: $9.99 (part of the Season Pass)

Cold, Cold Heart feels like a legitimate addition to the Arkham Origins lore, and not just a cheap cash-in. It's definitely a side story that's too big to be shoved into the core game, even if it doesn't really innovate in any meaningful way. While I wouldn't go out of my way to buy Arkham Origins just for it, I'd implore any current owner to take a look.

Verdict: 7.5/10 - Read the full Batman: Arkham Origins: Cold, Cold Heart review

NES Remix 2 (Wii U)
Developer: indieszero
Publisher: Nintendo
Released: April 24, 2014
MSRP: $14.99

This is something that I'm going to be playing for quite some time with friends every so often, comparing scores until the cows come home. I wish this mode was a bit more fleshed out overall though (two Mario games is a bit much), and I'd love to see it as a standard in future iterations of this franchise (SNES Remix, perhaps?). In other words, I wouldn't buy it just to play Championship mode, but it's enjoyable all the same.

Verdict: 8/10 - Read the full NES Remix 2 review.

Disney Magical World (3DS)
Developer: h.a.n.d.
Publisher: Nintendo
Released: April 11, 2014
MSRP: $29.99

That's the theme of Magical World -- simplicity. There are no secret times you need to get to a club to hear a certain song, no special residents that will only grant you a rare item on a certain hour of a certain day (there is a clock, but its effects are mostly aesthetic). For those of you who like min/maxing turnip prices and the like, you won't scratch that same itch here. It's not like that's a bad thing in my book -- I think an increased amount of accessibility is great -- just be wary that it can affect the game's longevity.

Verdict: 7/10 - Read the full Disney Magical World review

Mario Golf: World Tour (3DS)
Developer: Camelot
Publisher: Nintendo
Release Date: May 2, 2014
MSRP: $29.99

Mario Golf: World Tour's presentation is strong, especially when it comes to the varied characters and costumes. The course designs are colorful and exciting, and they're packed with little secrets to find. The low resolution of the shot grid is the only place where the presentation of World Tour lets you down.

Verdict: 8/10 - Read the full Mario Golf: World Tour review  






Comments not appearing? Anti-virus apps like Avast or some browser extensions can cause this.
Easy fix: Add   [*].disqus.com   to your software's white list. Tada! Happy comments time again.

Did you know? You can now get daily or weekly email notifications when humans reply to your comments.



Marth amiibo resurrects in April photo


Beard View: The Legend of Legacy photo
Beard View: The Legend of Legacy
11:00 AM on 02.27.2015


Review: Ironfall: Invasion photo
Review: Ironfall: Invasion
10:00 AM on 02.27.2015






3DS

7:30 PM on 03.02.2015
Marth amiibo resurrects in April

Nintendo has announced that our lord and savior and one true amiibo, Marth, will be back in stores in late April. A little late for him and his friend Ike to join the fight in Code Name: S.T.E.A.M., which will have already been released in March. Finally, our prayers to Reggie have worked. Praise to Iwata. May our enemies' amiibo burn in hell.  Nintendo [Twitter]more



11:30 AM on 03.02.2015
Monster Hunter 4's Legend of Zelda DLC will arrive this month

Still playing Monster Hunter 4? Well you'll be happy to boot it up on March 6, as a number of free DLC items are arriving at that time. On that day, you'll get a Link outfit, including a bow, shield/ sword, and armor pie...more



5:42 AM on 03.02.2015
Azure Striker Gunvolt sequel is coming, says Inti Creates

[Update: Famitsu has a quick look at a new character in the sequel. I hope it's Gunvolt in new duds.] Azure Striker Gunvolt was a fantastic platformer, and thankfully, the series isn't done yet. Inti Creates has con...more



View all 3DS






Back to Top




All content is yours to recycle through our Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing requiring attribution. Our communities are obsessed with videoGames, movies, anime, and toys.

Living the dream since March 16, 2006

Advertising on destructoid is available: Please contact them to learn more