Quantcast
Reviews Elsewhere: Dead Island: Riptide - Destructoid




Game database:   #ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ         ALL     Xbox One     PS4     360     PS3     WiiU     Wii     PC     3DS     DS     PS Vita     PSP     iOS     Android


Dead Island: Riptide  




Reviews Elsewhere: Dead Island: Riptide  photo
Reviews Elsewhere: Dead Island: Riptide

9:00 AM on 04.22.2013

Ripping it a new one


Dead Island: Riptide reviews went live in the graveyard hours of the morning, and ours totally didn't accidentally go up earlier, so don't go believing it did! I had review honors for Destructoid, and I wasn't exactly glowing

What did everybody else think? Well, it's safe to say Riptide hasn't had quite the critical reception its predecessor enjoyed. There have been a few positive scores, but many of our fellow reviewers found the experience mediocre, and the ratings generally range between four and seven. 

Most criticisms revolve around Techland's lack of improvements over Dead Island, and tedious mission progression. Game Informer's the outlier this time around, with a score of 8 and an un-ironic use of the word "visceral."

As always, we've collected some of the stand-out reviews for your reading pleasure. Any of you guys going ahead and getting Riptide anyway?

Gamespot"Riptide is dumb, and mind-numbingly slow, and somehow manages to make the art of zombie-slaying feel like utter tedium. And if slaying zombies isn't fun in a game that's all about slaying zombies, why bother?" [4/10]

IGN: "Rather than fix the graphics and the performance problems that plagued the original two years ago, Techland slightly modified the setting and delivered a new character and more content. It’s a fun time, but there are no surprises or killer new features to make it an impressive package." [7.2/10]

Eurogamer: "It's half-fun, but fittingly enough it's the boring stuff that ultimately kills it." [6/10]

Game Informer: "Riptide’s flaws are many, but they couldn’t hold me back from having a blast. Few games nail the visceral feel of melee combat and co-op fun like Dead Island. At its worst, an annoying hiccup breaks the immersion of the grizzly trek through a zombie-infested paradise. At its best, Riptide hits the same high notes as the original." [8/10]

Polygon: "There was a contingent of players that didn't have the problems I had with the original Dead Island. (Trust me, I heard from them.) They were perfectly content to have some brainless (zing!) fun with a few buddies. And I understand that. But I imagine even the most stalwart defenders of the series are going to be disappointed when they see just how little reason there is to travel from Banoi to Palanai." [5.5/10]

CVG: "Despite its beautiful skies and deep blue lagoons and bewitching skill trees, you can't overlook the fact that Palanai stinks." [5.9/10]

Videogamer: "On the whole however Riptide is yet another missed opportunity, and just too painfully average, wonky and padded out with filler to truly recommend." [5/10]

EGM: "Veterans of the first Dead Island, on the other hand, will feel cheated, as they’ll recognize the cheap carbon copy that Riptide actually is. Combine this with glitches galore and a plot with more holes in it than the sinking ship the game starts off on, and it’s hard to recommend Riptide to all but the most naïve of zombie enthusiasts." [6/10] 

Metro: "We can fully understand how the idea of Dead Island must sound appealing, especially as a zombie apocalypse fits a Fallout style action role-player to a tee. But everything about how the idea has been implemented is found wanting, from the hollow combat to the simplistic role-playing elements (you can build new weapons out of parts but only according to a Dead Rising 2 style blueprint). The amateur hour presentation just makes it all seem even worse." [4/10]








Comments not appearing? Anti-virus apps like Avast or some browser extensions can cause this.
Easy fix: Add   [*].disqus.com   to your software's white list. Tada! Happy comments time again.

Did you know? You can now get daily or weekly email notifications when humans reply to your comments.





timeline following:
Dead Island: Riptide



2:15 PM on 04.23.2013
Video Review: Dead Island Riptide

Destructoid video reviews are back, sunshine! Kicking off with the recently reviewed Dead Island Riptide, we're offering a retooled format that aims to be wholly complimentary to the written piece. We give you the straight f...more



2:01 AM on 04.22.2013
Review: Dead Island Riptide

Dead Island Riptide banks on you having really loved Dead Island. We're talking love to an unquenchable degree. Did you adore Dead Island, could you not get enough of its boundless slaughter and tropical zombie abominations? ...more




Role-Playing Games

10:30 PM on 10.20.2014
Dark Souls will shed Games for Windows Live next month

There were enough worthwhile PC games tied to Games for Windows Live that I was willing to put up with service, which seemed to range from mildly annoying to downright frustrating, depending on the day. For many of us, Dark S...more



1:30 PM on 10.20.2014
Atelier Shallie confirmed for western release in 2015

Atelier Shallie: Alchemists of the Dusk Sea will arrive in North America and Europe sometime next year, Koei Tecmo announced today. Everyone knew it was coming all along, but now we know know. Also, you can bet your bottom dollar on a Vita port turning up sooner or later. Koei Tecmo Europe [Twitter]more



12:00 PM on 10.19.2014
Review: Fairy Fencer F

If you want to think outside the box, the role-playing genre may not be the perfect playground for you -- at least, when it comes to traditional Japanese titles, which generally confine themselves to a set of tried-and-true m...more



View all Role-Playing Games






Back to Top




All content is yours to recycle through our Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing requiring attribution. Our communities are obsessed with videoGames, movies, anime, and toys.

Living the dream since March 16, 2006

Advertising on destructoid is available: Please contact them to learn more